Connecting Communities

Communities and Local Government written statement – made on 14th December 2009.

Alert me about debates like this

Photo of John Denham John Denham The Secretary of State for Communities and Local Government

On 14 October, I informed Parliament about my plan to reinvigorate and connect with those communities that are feeling the pressure from recession most acutely and ensure they are well placed to share fully in future prosperity and emerge stronger and more cohesive.

I can today inform Parliament that I am extending that programme to a further 85 neighbourhoods across 54 local authorities, adding to the 27 neighbourhoods across 21 local authorities that I announced in October.

The expansion of the programme means over 100 communities are now getting targeted help in addressing local issues. The package of support will enable local people to influence, shape and change policies on issues which really matter in their community. It will help to make sure that those people who are feeling the pressure the most are getting a bigger say and a fair deal.

Practical actions delivered on estates and streets will focus on making changes that address local people's concerns, reconnect them with jobs and tackle head on issues-real and perceived-which, left neglected, can prove fertile territory for extremism and those who would divide our communities.

I can also announce that around £2 million of funding is being directed at activity to support community champions, council staff and councillors that will help them develop the skills and confidence to address local issues head on. This funding complements extra support announced recently for around 130 local authority areas to tackle antisocial behaviour with training and support available to front-line staff and community champions.

Second round areas
North East (7) Newcastle-Upon-Tyne City Council 1. Elswick
South Tyneside MBC 2. Central Jarrow
Middlesbrough Council 3. Thorntree
Stockton-on-Tees Borough Council 4. Stockton Town Centre 5. Newtown
Hartlepool Borough Council 6. Dyke House, Stranton, Grange
Redcar and Cleveland Borough Council 7. Southbank and Grangetown
Durham County Council 8. Spennymoor
North West (5) Stockport MBC 9. Offerton
Rochdale MBC 10. Kirkholt
Oldham MBC 11. Waterhead
Knowsley MBC 12. Page Moss
Lancaster Council 13. Skerton
Yorkshire and Humber (6) Barnsley MBC 14. Darton West 15. Dearne 16.. Athersley and New Lodge (received funding in wave l)
East Riding of Yorkshire Council 17. Goole
North Lincolnshire Council 18. Winterton
North East Lincolnshire Council 19. Fiveways
Leeds City Council 20. Gipton
Rotherham MBC 21.East Maltby 22. Dinnington 23.East Maltby
East (2) Great Yarmouth Borough Council 24. Nelson
Thurrock Council 25. Tilbury Riverside and St Chad's
East Midlands (7) South Holland District Council 26. Holbeach 27. Long Sutton 28. Sutton Bridge
Bassetlaw District Council 29. Harworth
Leicester City Council 30. Eyres Monsell
Amber Valley Borough Council 31. Aldercar and Langley Mill
Northampton Borough Council 32. Thorplands
Gedling Borough Council 33. Killisick
N W Leicestershire District Council 34. Measham
West Midlands (6) Stoke-on-Trent City Council 35. Bentilee
Birmingham City Council 36. Shard End
Herefordshire County Council 37. Newton Farm and Golden Post (Belmont Ward)
Sandwell MBC 38. Friar Park 39. Tibbington Estate, Princes End
Walsall MBC 40. Birchills
Wolverhampton MBC 41.Bilston East
South East (8) Hastings Borough Council 42. Greater Hollington and Ore Valley
Brighton and Hove City Council 43. Whitehawk, 44. Moulescoomb and Woodingdean
Crawley Borough Council 45. Bewbush and Iffield
Rushmoor Borough Council 46. Prospect Estate
Southampton City Council 47. Bitterne (area around Sullivan Road, Sholing) 48. Weston 49. Millbrook
Wycombe District Council 50. Castlefield
Oxford City Council 51. Blackbird Leys and Greater Leys
Thanet District Council 52. Cliftonville West and Margate Central
South West (2) Bath and NE Somerset Council 53. London Road, Snowhill 54. Queens Road, Keynesham
Bristol City Council 55. St George East and West, Brislington East 56. Southmead 57. Whitchurch 58. Hillfields
London(12) Barking & Dagenham 59. Eastbury 60. Village 61. Valence 62. Parsloes 63. Goresbrook 64. Alibon
Barnet, London Borough of 65. Coppetts 66. High Barnet
Croydon, London Borough of 67. New Addington 68. Fieldway
Enfield, London Borough of 69. Chase 70. Enfield Highway 71. Enfield Lock 72. Ponders End 73. Southbury and Turkey Street
Greenwich, London Borough of 74. Brook, Page and Corelli estates
Havering, London Borough of 75. Mawneys and Elm Park
Hillingdon, London Borough of 76. Yeading
Hounslow, London Borough of 77. Bedfont, Feltham North and West, Hanworth and Hanworth Park
Kensington and Chelsea, Royal Borough of 78. North Kensington
Redbridge, London Borough of 79. Hainault
Richmond upon Thames, London Borough of 80. Ham 81.Heathfield 82. Hampton North (Nursery Lands) 83. Castelnau 84. Mortlake
Sutton, London Borough of 85. Sutton Northern Wards: St Helier, Wandle Valley and The Wrythe