House of Lords: Appointments Commission

House of Lords written statement – made on 8th February 2007.

Alert me about debates like this

Photo of Baroness Amos Baroness Amos President of the Council, Privy Council Office, Lord President of the Council and Leader of the House of Lords (Privy Council Office)

My right honourable friend the Prime Minister has made the following Statement.

I am today announcing the reappointment of the House of Lords Appointments Commission for a further 18 months, as from the beginning of this year, pending further discussions on House of Lords reform.

The commission's membership is unchanged. The chairman is Lord Stevenson of Coddenham CBE, the chairman of HBOS plc and a Cross-Bench Peer in the House of Lords.

The independent members are: Ms Angela Sarkis CBE, National Secretary of the YMCA England; and Mrs Felicity Huston, Commissioner for Public Appointments for Northern Ireland and a tax consultant.

In addition, there are three party-political members who are each nominated by one of the three main political parties: the Labour Party member is the right honourable Baroness Dean of Thornton-le-Fylde; the Conservative Party member is the right honourable Lord Hurd of Westwell CH CBE; the Liberal Democrat member is the Lord Dholakia OBE DL.