General Commissioners: Amalgamation of Divisions

House of Lords written statement – made on 1st February 2007.

Alert me about debates like this

Photo of Baroness Ashton of Upholland Baroness Ashton of Upholland Parliamentary Under-Secretary, Department for Constitutional Affairs, Parliamentary Under-Secretary (Department for Constitutional Affairs)

I have made an order under Section 2 (6) of the Taxes Management Act 1970 amalgamating a number of divisions in Dorset, Hampshire, London, West Sussex, Gwent and the Tees Valley as follows:

With effect from 1 February 2007

New Forest East Division and Wessex Division are merged into New Forest East & Wessex Division.St Paul Covent Garden Division and St Giles in the Fields & St George Bloomsbury Division are merged into Bloomsbury & Covent Garden Division.North Dorset Division and West Dorset & Weymouth Division are merged into North Dorset, West Dorset & Weymouth Division.Bedwellty Division, Monmouth Division, Newport Division and Pontypool Division are merged into Gwent Division.Part of the West Sussex Western Division (that part being the area which formerly constituted the Shoreham Division) is merged into the West Sussex Northern Division.Aldershot Division and Basingstoke Division are merged into Aldershot and Basingstoke Division.

And with effect from 25 April 2007

Hartlepool with Stockton Division and Teesside South with Langbaurgh Division are merged into Tees Valley Division.

All the amalgamations were made at the request of the general commissioners in all the divisions with the aim of improving the organisational efficiency of the divisions concerned. I have placed copies of the order amalgamating the divisions in the Libraries of both Houses.