Decision Time

Part of the debate – in the Scottish Parliament at 5:30 pm on 2nd June 2005.

Alert me about debates like this

Photo of Murray Tosh Murray Tosh Conservative 5:30 pm, 2nd June 2005

The final question is, that motion S2M-2900, in the name of Margaret Curran, on the establishment of an ad hoc committee, be agreed to.

Motion agreed to.

That the Parliament agrees to establish an Ad Hoc Committee of the Parliament as follows:

Name of Committee: Ad Hoc Standards Committee; Remit:

1. To consider and report in respect of a report submitted by the Scottish Parliamentary Standards Commissioner; In particular as to -

(a) whether a member's conduct is in accordance with the Standing Orders and the Code of Conduct for MSPs, matters relating to members' interests, and any other matters relating to the conduct of members in carrying out their Parliamentary duties; and

(b) the application of the Code of Conduct for MSPs.

2. Where the Committee considers it appropriate, to recommend by motion that a member's rights and privileges are withdrawn to such extent and for such period as are specified in the motion.

Duration: Until the Committee has reported; Convenership: The Convener will be a member of the Labour Party and the Deputy Convener a member of the Scottish National Party; Membership: Trish Godman (Labour), Scott Barrie (Labour), Alasdair Morgan (SNP), Lord James Douglas-Hamilton (Conservative), George Lyon (Liberal Democrats).