Motion without Notice

– in the Scottish Parliament at 4:53 pm on 4th March 2004.

Alert me about debates like this

Photo of George Reid George Reid None 4:53 pm, 4th March 2004

We are about five minutes ahead of ourselves. I am minded to accept a motion without notice to bring forward decision time.

Motion moved,

That Decision Time on 4 March 2004 be taken at

4.56 pm.—[Patricia Ferguson.]

Photo of George Reid George Reid None

If you can do so briefly.

Photo of Frances Curran Frances Curran SSP

Well, there are four minutes. Earlier today, Presiding Officer, you decided at your discretion not to put to the Parliament a motion without notice to enable us to discuss an issue at short notice. Why is a motion without notice acceptable now—when there is a little bit of time to discuss the issues—given that such a motion could not be put forward earlier? The motion that we wanted to put—

Photo of George Reid George Reid None

The motion has been moved and you must speak to the specifics.

Photo of Frances Curran Frances Curran SSP

I oppose the motion because of the issues. The issues might not be relevant next week, or in a few days. The hunger strikers might die and it is important for the Parliament to—

Photo of George Reid George Reid None

The only question now is that decision time should be brought forward.

Photo of George Reid George Reid None

The question is, that the motion be agreed to. Are we agreed?



Division number 4

For: Adam, Brian, Aitken, Bill, Alexander, Ms Wendy, Baillie, Jackie, Baker, Richard, Barrie, Scott, Boyack, Sarah, Brankin, Rhona, Brown, Robert, Butler, Bill, Canavan, Dennis, Chisholm, Malcolm, Craigie, Cathie, Crawford, Bruce, Curran, Ms Margaret, Davidson, Mr David, Deacon, Susan, Douglas-Hamilton, Lord James, Eadie, Helen, Ewing, Mrs Margaret, Ferguson, Patricia, Gallie, Phil, Gibson, Rob, Gillon, Karen, Glen, Marlyn, Godman, Trish, Gorrie, Donald, Grahame, Christine, Henry, Hugh, Home Robertson, Mr John, Hughes, Janis, Hyslop, Fiona, Jackson, Dr Sylvia, Jackson, Gordon, Jamieson, Cathy, Jamieson, Margaret, Johnstone, Alex, Kerr, Mr Andy, Lamont, Johann, Livingstone, Marilyn, Lochhead, Richard, Lyon, George, MacAskill, Mr Kenny, Macintosh, Mr Kenneth, Maclean, Kate, Macmillan, Maureen, Martin, Paul, Marwick, Tricia, Mather, Jim, Maxwell, Mr Stewart, May, Christine, McAveety, Mr Frank, McCabe, Mr Tom, McGrigor, Mr Jamie, McMahon, Michael, McNeil, Mr Duncan, McNeill, Pauline, McNulty, Des, Morgan, Alasdair, Morrison, Mr Alasdair, Muldoon, Bristow, Mulligan, Mrs Mary, Munro, John Farquhar, Murray, Dr Elaine, Neil, Alex, Oldfather, Irene, Peacock, Peter, Peattie, Cathy, Pringle, Mike, Purvis, Jeremy, Radcliffe, Nora, Raffan, Mr Keith, Robison, Shona, Robson, Euan, Rumbles, Mike, Scanlon, Mary, Scott, Tavish, Smith, Elaine, Smith, Iain, Smith, Margaret, Stephen, Nicol, Stevenson, Stewart, Sturgeon, Nicola, Swinburne, John, Swinney, Mr John, Tosh, Murray, Turner, Dr Jean, Wallace, Mr Jim, Watson, Mike, Welsh, Mr Andrew, White, Ms Sandra, Whitefield, Karen, Wilson, Allan
Against: Baird, Shiona, Ballance, Chris, Ballard, Mark, Byrne, Ms Rosemary, Curran, Frances, Fox, Colin, Harvie, Patrick, Leckie, Carolyn, MacDonald, Margo, Martin, Campbell, McFee, Mr Bruce, Ruskell, Mr Mark, Scott, Eleanor
Abstentions: Harper, Robin

Photo of George Reid George Reid None

The result of the division is: For 93, Against 13, Abstentions 1.

Motion agreed to.

Photo of George Reid George Reid None

We therefore bring decision time forward. It is 16:58, which is two minutes ahead of the time that was intended.