Scottish Parliament debates

Wednesday, 4 September 2002

  • Introduction

    Scottish Parliament Wednesday 4 September 2002 (Afternoon) [THE PRESIDING OFFICER opened the meeting at 14:30]

  • Time for Reflection

    2 speeches

    To lead our time for reflection this afternoon, we welcome the Right Rev Monsignor Michael Conway of St Ignatius Parish in Wishaw.

  • Business Motions

    5 speeches

    The first item of business is consideration of business motion S1M-3344, in the name of Patricia Ferguson, on behalf of the Parliamentary Bureau, setting out a business programme. I ask Euan...

  • Scottish Water Supplies and Public Health

    95 speeches

    The main item of business today is a debate on motion S1M-3338, in the name of Ross Finnie, on Scottish water supplies and public health, and two amendments to that motion.

  • World Summit on Sustainable Development

    19 speeches

    Talking of the First Minister, I call on him to make a statement on his visit to Johannesburg.

  • Parliamentary Bureau Motion

    2 speeches

    I apologise to the four members whom I did not call, but we are now well past the time for decision time and we have to deal first with Parliamentary Bureau motion S1M-3345, on the designation of...

  • Point of Order

    2 speeches

    On a point of order, Presiding Officer. It has been drawn to my attention that I may have inadvertently given erroneous information to the chamber in the concluding stages of this afternoon's...

  • Decision Time

    13 speeches

    I have four questions to put to the chamber as a result of today's business. The first question is, that amendment S1M-3338.1, in the name of Bruce Crawford, which seeks to amend motion S1M-3338,...

  • Emergency Services Staff

    13 speeches

    The final item of business is a members' business debate on motion S1M-3327, in the name of Karen Gillon, on attacks on emergency services staff. As we are a bit behind time, I call Karen Gillon...

What is this?

The Scottish Parliament is the national legislature of Scotland, located in Edinburgh. The Parliament consists of 129 members known as MSPs, elected for four-year terms; 73 represent individual geographical constituencies, and 56 are regional representatives.

September 2002
Mon Tue Wed Thu Fri Sat Sun