Scottish Parliament debates

Thursday, 30 May 2002

  • Introduction

    Scottish Parliament Thursday 30 May 2002 [THE PRESIDING OFFICER opened the meeting at 09:30]

  • Scottish Executive's Programme

    141 speeches

    The first item of business is the First Minister's statement on the Executive programme, which will be followed by a debate on the topic. The statement is quite substantial and I ask members who...

  • Parliamentary Bureau Motions

    1 speech

    The next item of business is consideration of two Parliamentary Bureau motions. I ask Euan Robson to move motion S1M-3164, on the approval of Scottish statutory instruments, and motion S1M-3166,...

  • Business Motion

    10 speeches

    The next item of business is consideration of business motion S1M-3165, in the name of Patricia Ferguson, on behalf of the Parliamentary Bureau, setting out the business programme. Motion moved,...

  • Question Time — Scottish Executive

  • First Minister's Question Time

  • Cancer Strategy

    36 speeches

    We come now to a debate on motion S1M-3160, in the name of Malcolm Chisholm, on implementing the cancer strategy. I invite those who wish to take part in the debate to indicate that wish now....

  • Point of Order

    13 speeches

    On a point of order, Presiding Officer. I request permission to move a motion without notice in the following terms: "That the Parliament notes that the First Minister has breached clause 1.1(c)...

  • Decision Time

    7 speeches

    The first question is, that motion S1M-3164, in the name of Patricia Ferguson, on behalf of the Parliamentary Bureau, on the approval of statutory instruments, be agreed to. Motion agreed to....

  • Timber Industry

    20 speeches

    The final item of business today—and, indeed, of our stay in Aberdeen—is a members' business debate on motion S1M-2953, in the name of Alex Fergusson, on the timber industry. The...

What is this?

The Scottish Parliament is the national legislature of Scotland, located in Edinburgh. The Parliament consists of 129 members known as MSPs, elected for four-year terms; 73 represent individual geographical constituencies, and 56 are regional representatives.

May 2002
Mon Tue Wed Thu Fri Sat Sun