Scottish Parliament debates

Tuesday, 28 May 2002

  • Introduction

    Scottish Parliament Tuesday 28 May 2002 [THE PRESIDING OFFICER opened the meeting at 09:30]

  • Time for Reflection

    2 speeches

    Good morning. It is entirely appropriate that, here at the University of Aberdeen, we welcome the chaplain to the university, the Rev Easter Smart, to lead our time for reflection.

  • Modernising Government Fund

    68 speeches

    The main debate this morning is on motion S1M-3150, in the name of Andy Kerr, on the modernising government fund, and one amendment to that motion. I ask members who want to take part in the...

  • Address by Her Majesty the Queen

    3 speeches

    Your Majesty, Your Royal Highness, you are most welcome once again among us. I want this morning to dwell on the word "among" for, although the Scottish Parliament is only three years old, we...

  • Alternatives to Custody

    99 speeches

    Good afternoon. The first item of business this afternoon is a debate on motion S1M-3149, in the name of Jim Wallace, on alternatives to custody, and two amendments to that motion.

  • Parliamentary Bureau Motion

    1 speech

    The next item of business is consideration of Parliamentary Bureau motion S1M-3146, on the approval of Scottish statutory instruments. Motion moved, That the Parliament agrees that the following...

  • Decision Time

    21 speeches

    We come now to decision time. There are six questions to be put as a result of today's business. The first question is, that amendment S1M-3150.1, in the name of Tricia Marwick, which seeks to...

  • Drug Misuse in North-East Scotland

    39 speeches

    The final item of business is a members' business debate on motion S1M-3051, in the name of Richard Lochhead, on drug misuse in north-east Scotland. Motion debated, That the Parliament notes with...

What is this?

The Scottish Parliament is the national legislature of Scotland, located in Edinburgh. The Parliament consists of 129 members known as MSPs, elected for four-year terms; 73 represent individual geographical constituencies, and 56 are regional representatives.

May 2002
Mon Tue Wed Thu Fri Sat Sun