Scottish Parliament debates

Wednesday, 1 May 2002

  • Introduction

    [THE PRESIDING OFFICER opened the meeting at 14:30]

  • Time for Reflection

    2 speeches

    We give a warm welcome to the Very Rev Monsignor Henry Docherty, the general secretary of the Roman Catholic Bishops Conference of Scotland, who will lead our time for reflection this afternoon.

  • Youth Participation

    70 speeches

    Our main item of business is a debate on motion S1M-3048, in the name of Cathy Jamieson, on helping Scotland's youth participate in communities, and on two amendments to that motion. I invite all...

  • Decision Time

    11 speeches

    As a result of today's business, there are three questions to put to members. The first question is, that amendment S1M-3048.1, in the name of Michael Russell, which seeks to amend motion...

  • Agism

    15 speeches

    The final item of business today is a member's business debate on motion S1M-2849, in the name of Sarah Boyack, on agism. The debate will conclude without any question being put. Members who wish...

What is this?

The Scottish Parliament is the national legislature of Scotland, located in Edinburgh. The Parliament consists of 129 members known as MSPs, elected for four-year terms; 73 represent individual geographical constituencies, and 56 are regional representatives.

May 2002
Mon Tue Wed Thu Fri Sat Sun