Scottish Parliament debates

Wednesday, 19 May 1999

  • Introduction

    3 speeches

    Scottish Parliament Wednesday 19 May 1999 [THE PRESIDING OFFICER opened the meeting at 10:00]

  • Ministers

    134 speeches

    I hope that we do, in fact, have rational debate this morning and on all occasions. This is a motion of some interest. It is a motion to approve or give support to a ministerial list which, if...

  • Junior Ministers

    96 speeches

    The next business is a debate on a motion from the First Minister, which seeks the agreement of the Parliament to the appointment of the junior Scottish ministers. I will put the question on the...

  • Scottish Parliamentary Corporate Body

    28 speeches

    We now move to the election of members of the parliamentary corporation. We have received four nominations. In alphabetical order they are: Robert Brown Des McNulty Andrew Welsh John Young I...

  • Sitting Days

    25 speeches

    The next scheduled business of the day is a debate on a Parliamentary Bureau motion.

What is this?

The Scottish Parliament is the national legislature of Scotland, located in Edinburgh. The Parliament consists of 129 members known as MSPs, elected for four-year terms; 73 represent individual geographical constituencies, and 56 are regional representatives.

May 1999
Mon Tue Wed Thu Fri Sat Sun

Did you find what you were looking for?