Baroness Hussein-Ece

Liberal Democrat Lords Spokesperson (Equalities)

Liberal Democrat Peer

As a result of COVID-19, some MPs have been less able to vote in Parliament, and this will be reflected in their voting record.

Show more detail
11th May to 2nd June 2020

All MPs could vote remotely through an online voting tool. Votes cast remotely are shown as normal on the TheyWorkForYou voting record.

2nd to 9th June 2020

The option of online voting was removed, and a number of MPs may have been unable to vote because they were not physically able to attend.

10th June 2020 onwards

The requirements on proxy voting were relaxed, allowing MPs to designate another MP to cast a vote on their behalf.

If an MP votes by proxy, it is effectively exactly the same as if they cast the vote in person and it shows up on their TheyWorkForYou voting record.

MPs are not required to designate a proxy, and may instead pair with an opposing MP to miss a vote. Parliament does not record when two MPs have come to a pairing arrangement, so on TheyWorkForYou, they will both appear to have been absent for the vote.

We will update this information if the situation changes. See more detail on votes during the COVID-19 period here.

A selection of Baroness Hussein-Ece's votes

See full list of topics voted on

We have lots more plain English analysis of Baroness Hussein-Ece’s voting record on issues like health, welfare, taxation and more. Visit Baroness Hussein-Ece’s full vote analysis page for more.

Recent appearances

  • Covid-19 Update - Statement 14 Sep 2020

    My Lords, in the past week, over 700 schools have reported Covid cases among teachers and pupils, but getting a test is difficult for many. I declare an interest: my seven year-old grandson went back to school last Monday and got a high temperature. He was told to stay at home and his parents tried all week to get a test for him. They were sent to Brighton and eventually managed to get one 10...
  • Domestic Abuse - Private Notice Question 24 Jul 2020

    The lockdown has impacted disproportionately on migrant women trapped in abusive relationships with little financial help from the state, or entitlement to such help. Are applications from these women for indefinite leave to remain being considered accordingly, as they can be in some instances, and what emergency funding has been made available to help these very desperate women?
  • Medical Teaching and Learning: Ethnic Diversity - Question 14 Jul 2020

    My Lords, while reflecting diversity in medical training and learning is critical, needed alongside that is a change in the culture in the NHS. Evidence shows that racism, bullying and harassment are not diminishing. Is the Minister satisfied that the clinical leadership across NHS services is committed to learning from the research evidence on the impact of racism and discrimination on...

More of Baroness Hussein-Ece’s recent appearances

RSS feed (?)


Liberal Democrat Peer

Entered the House of Lords on 29 June 2010

Currently held offices

  • Member, Conduct Committee (since 9 May 2019)
  • Liberal Democrat Lords Spokesperson (Equalities) (since 12 Oct 2017)

Other offices held in the past

  • Member, Sexual Violence in Conflict Committee (11 Jun 2015 to 22 Mar 2016)
  • Liberal Democrat Lords Spokesperson (Equalities) (1 Jun 2015 to 28 Oct 2016)
  • Member, Soft Power Committee (16 May 2013 to 11 Mar 2014)
  • Member, HIV and AIDS Committee in the United Kingdom (20 Dec 2010 to 19 Jul 2011)

Note for journalists and researchers: The data on this page may be used freely, on condition that is cited as the source.

This data was produced by TheyWorkForYou from a variety of sources. Voting information from Public Whip.