Clause 7 - National Lottery Distribution Fund: apportionment

Part of National Lottery Bill – in a Public Bill Committee at 4:00 pm on 25th October 2005.

Alert me about debates like this

Photo of Richard Caborn Richard Caborn Minister of State (Sport), Department for Culture, Media & Sport 4:00 pm, 25th October 2005

It is the phraseology that is used. We say in this Government, “the Secretary of State”. Who defines who the Secretary of State is? The answer to that is that they are the Secretary of State of Government. We are distinguishing between the Executive and the Parliament, and we are giving the powers to the Executive, not to the Parliament. That is different from what we have done in Wales, because in Wales there is no distinction between the Executive and the Parliament.