Public Bill Committees

Previously called Standing Committees, Public Bill Commitees study proposed legislation (Bills) in detail, debating each clause and reporting any amendments to the Commons for further debate.

There are at least 16 MPs on a Committee, and the proportion of parties reflects the House of Commons, so the government always has a majority.

All bills in this session

Committee membership and attendance (out of 1)


  • Mr Bowen Wells (1)


  • Ian Gibson (1)
  • Baroness Hoey (1)
  • Lord MacGregor of Pulham Market (1)
  • Fiona Mactaggart (1)
  • Lord Prior of Brampton (1)
  • Bob Russell (1)
  • Baroness Shephard of Northwold (1)
  • Dr George Turner (1)
  • Anthony D Wright (1)

[ Committee memberships can change partway through ]