Public Bill Committees

Previously called Standing Committees, Public Bill Commitees study proposed legislation (Bills) in detail, debating each clause and reporting any amendments to the Commons for further debate.

There are at least 16 MPs on a Committee, and the proportion of parties reflects the House of Commons, so the government always has a majority.

All bills in this session

Committee membership and attendance (out of 1)


  • Baroness Michie of Gallanach (1)


  • Bob Ainsworth (1)
  • Sir Sydney Chapman (1)
  • Caroline Flint (1)
  • Kelvin Hopkins (1)
  • Lynne Jones (1)
  • Mr David Madel (1)
  • Mr Andrew Rowe (1)
  • Mr John Taylor (1)

[ Committee memberships can change partway through ]