Wera Hobhouse

Liberal Democrat Shadow Leader of the House of Commons

Liberal Democrat MP for Bath

@Wera_Hobhouse https://facebook.com/WeraHobhouse

Right to Remain for European Union Nationals in the UK

There have been a votes in Parliament which relate to EU nationals currently living in the UK having the right to remain.

Photo: tristam sparks

We don’t have enough information to calculate Wera Hobhouse’s position on this issue

However, Wera Hobhouse has taken part in the following votes on the topic:

  • On 30 Jun 2020: Wera Hobhouse was absent for a vote on Immigration and Social Security Co-ordination (EU Withdrawal) Bill — Third Reading Show vote
  • On 18 May 2020: Wera Hobhouse voted against ending the general right for nationals of European Union member states, European Economic Area states and Switzerland to enter and reside in the UK. Show vote
  • On 7 Jan 2020: Wera Hobhouse voted to automatically, without requiring an application, assign a right of permanent residence in the UK to EU citizens who have resided in the UK for at least five years. Show vote
  • On 7 Jan 2020: Wera Hobhouse voted to limit the fees charged to European Union citizens and certain others registering as a citizen of the United Kingdom. Show vote
  • On 13 Mar 2019: Wera Hobhouse voted against delaying leaving the EU by a couple of months, against continuing current arrangements with the EU until the end of 2021, and against unilaterally guaranteeing the rights of European Union citizens in the United Kingdom. Show vote
  • On 28 Jan 2019: Wera Hobhouse voted not to make European Union, European Economic Area and Swiss nationals, and their family members, subject to UK immigration controls. Show vote
  • On 14 Nov 2017: Wera Hobhouse voted for the UK to remain a member of the European Communities, and for new European Union law to remain incorporated in UK law. Show vote
  • On 29 Jun 2017: Wera Hobhouse was absent for a vote on Queen's Speech — Energy Prices — Europe — Tuition Fees — Public Sector Pay — Minimum Wage — Student Grants Show vote
  • On 29 Jun 2017: Wera Hobhouse voted to express regret the Government is: not guaranteeing a Parliamentary vote on the outcome of negotiations on leaving the European Union; not ruling out leaving the EU without a deal; not setting out transitional arrangements for leaving the EU; not setting out proposals to remain within the Customs Union and Single Market and not protecting the rights of EU nationals living in the UK and UK nationals living in the EU. Show vote

Note for journalists and researchers: The data on this page may be used freely, on condition that TheyWorkForYou.com is cited as the source.

For an explanation of the vote descriptions please see our page about voting information on TheyWorkForYou.

Profile photo: © Parliament (CC-BY 3.0)