David Morris

Conservative MP for Morecambe and Lunesdale

@Davidmpmorris https://facebook.com/davidmorrisml

David Morris’s voting in Parliament

David Morris is a Conservative MP, and on the vast majority of issues votes the same way as other Conservative MPs.

However, David Morris sometimes differs from their party colleagues, such as:

  • David Morris voted against investigations into the Iraq war, while most Conservative MPs generally voted for. Show votes

We have lots more plain English analysis of David Morris’s voting record on issues like health, welfare, taxation and more. Visit David Morris’s full vote analysis page for more.

David Morris has occasionally rebelled against their party in the current parliament. Find out more.

Recent appearances

  • Resignation of Uk Ambassador to Usa 11 Jul 2019

    I went to Washington in November 2018, and I met Sir Kim Darroch. He had very warm words to say about Donald Trump on that occasion. Does my right hon. Friend not feel it is incumbent on every Member of Parliament to back our excellent diplomats and civil servants and that my right hon. Friend the Member for Uxbridge and South Ruislip (Boris Johnson) should come to the House and apologise?
  • Oral Answers to Questions — Prime Minister: Engagements 10 Jul 2019

    The Eden Project wants to come to the north of England—to Morecambe. I would like to have a meeting with the Chancellor and the Prime Minister to talk about putting Eden into Morecambe to make sure it is the jewel in the north-west that it should be.
  • Digital, Culture, Media and Sport: Commercial FM Radio 4 Jul 2019

    What steps he plans to take to increase the provision of FM frequencies for commercial radio in (a) the UK and (b) Morecambe Bay.

More of David Morris’s recent appearances

RSS feed (?)


Conservative MP for Morecambe and Lunesdale

Entered the House of Commons on 6 May 2010 — General election

Social Media


Topics of interest

  • Communities and Local Government
  • Transport
  • Health
  • Environment Food and Rural Affairs
  • Home Department
  • Morecambe
  • Bovine Tuberculosis
  • Morecambe and Lunesdale: Funding
  • Vat
  • Housing: Morecambe

Currently held offices

  • Member, Public Administration and Constitutional Affairs Committee (since 11 Sep 2017)

Other offices held in the past

  • Member, Political and Constitutional Reform Committee (20 Jan 2014 to 30 Mar 2015)
  • Member, Science and Technology Committee (Commons) (3 Dec 2012 to 24 Nov 2014)
  • Member, Administration Committee (3 Dec 2012 to 10 Mar 2014)
  • Member, Science and Technology Committee (Commons) (12 Jul 2010 to 27 Feb 2012)

Previous MPs in this constituency

Public bill committees (Sittings attended)


Please note that numbers do not measure quality. Also, representatives may do other things not currently covered by this site. More about this

Register of Members’ Interests

Last updated: 12 Aug 2019.

1. Employment and earnings
7 February 2019, received £650 from the Daily Mail, Associated Newspapers, 2 Derry Street, London W8 5TT, for an article. Hours: 3 hrs. (Registered 07 March 2019)
4. Visits outside the UK
Name of donor: (1) Clarion Defence (UK) Ltd (2) CAE Aircrew Training Services plc, both via the APPG on the Armed Forces
Address of donor: (1) Bedford House, 69 - 79 Fulham High Street, London SW6 3JW (2) MSHATF RAF Benson, Wallingford OX10 6AA

Estimate of the probable value (or amount of any donation): For my partner and myself, (1) £250; (2) £250. The APPG for the Armed Forces used these sums to meet the costs of travel, food, accommodation and museum entry fees, which together had a total value of approx. £250 per person, £500 in total, after personal contributions of £100 each.

Destination of visit: The Netherlands

Dates of visit: 25–27 July 2018

Purpose of visit: Operation Market Garden Battlefield Tour by the APPG for the Armed Forces. This included visits to the sites of World War II battles and Commonwealth cemeteries.

(Registered 04 September 2018)
Name of donor: HM Government Gibraltar
Address of donor: Gibraltar House, 150 Strand, London WC2R 1JA

Estimate of the probable value (or amount of any donation): Flights, changes to flights, and accommodation for myself and my partner with a value of £2,186.60

Destination of visit: Gibraltar

Dates of visit: 6-11 September 2018

Purpose of visit: Visit as part of the Gibraltar APPG, for Gibraltar National Day and also to hold meetings with Ministers regarding Brexit and the current political situation in Gibraltar.

(Registered 11 October 2018)
Name of donor: Elections Commission of Maldives
Address of donor: 5th Floor, PA Complex, Hilaaleemagu, Malé 20307

Estimate of the probable value (or amount of any donation): Flights and accommodation for myself and my Parliamentary Assistant, value £8,966.68

Destination of visit: Maldives

Dates of visit: 20-25 September 2018

Purpose of visit: To join an international delegation to observe the Presidential Election.

(Registered 01 November 2018)
Name of donor: Prosperous Armenia Party
Address of donor: 47 Hanrapetutyan street, 0010 Yerevan

Estimate of the probable value (or amount of any donation): Flights, accommodation, travel, food and drink for myself and member of staff, value £3,796

Destination of visit: Yerevan, Armenia

Dates of visit: 25 - 29 October 2018

Purpose of visit: To attend the Investment and Trade Roundtable in Yerevan.

(Registered 21 November 2018)
Name of donor: All Party Parliamentary China Group (sponsored by Arup, HSBC, Cambridge Assessment, John Swire & Sons & City of London)
Address of donor: House of Commons, London SW1A 0AA

Estimate of the probable value (or amount of any donation): International flights £1,442; accommodation £274.69; food and drink £52.60; total £1,769.29

Destination of visit: Beijing, China

Dates of visit: 6 - 10 November 2018

Purpose of visit: To strengthen relations between the UK Parliament and the National People’s Congress of China; to support British businesses operating in China; and to deepen the understanding of parliamentarians of China.

(Registered 21 November 2018)
Name of donor: Government of Jersey London Office
Address of donor: Queen Anne's Gate, Westminster, London SW1H 9AA

Estimate of the probable value (or amount of any donation): Airfare, accommodation, travel, food and drink for me and member of staff, value £1,428.32

Destination of visit: Jersey

Dates of visit: 9-12 May 2019

Purpose of visit: APPG Channel Islands Liberation Day Visit.

(Registered 17 June 2019)
6. Land and property portfolio: (i) value over £100,000 and/or (ii) giving rental income of over £10,000 a year
Shop premises in Greater Manchester: (i) and (ii).
9. Family members employed and paid from parliamentary expenses
I employ my partner, Emma Smith, as Senior Parliamentary Assistant. (Registered 16 March 2017)

View the history of this MP’s entries in the Register

More about the register

Note for journalists and researchers: The data on this page may be used freely, on condition that TheyWorkForYou.com is cited as the source.

This data was produced by TheyWorkForYou from a variety of sources. Voting information from Public Whip.

Profile photo: © Parliament (CC-BY 3.0)