Dominic Raab

Former Conservative MP for Esher and Walton


About your former Member of Parliament

Dominic Raab is a former MP for Esher and Walton.

What you can do

Support TheyWorkForYou's work in the new Parliament

TheyWorkForYou is run by mySociety, a small UK charity.

We're a very efficient operation and do a lot with a small team. At the moment TheyWorkForYou, which is used by millions of people each year, is run with less than the equivalent of one full-time person.

If we had a bit more money, we could achieve a lot more.

We want MPs to meet the standards and expectations of the people who elected them - you!

If you share that goal please donate today to enable greater transparency and accountability of the next government.

Learn more about our current work, and our new project WhoFundsThem - looking into MPs’ and APPGs’ financial interests.

Learn more about how we'll use your donation and other ways to help.


Former Conservative MP for Esher and Walton

Entered the House of Commons on 6 May 2010 — General election

Left the House of Commons on 30 May 2024 — Dissolved for election

Social Media


Topics of interest

Dominic Raab campaigned to leave the European Union Source: BBC

  • Home Department
  • Justice
  • Treasury
  • Home Office
  • Business
  • Innovation and Skills
  • Pay
  • Equality
  • Trade Unions
  • Arrest Warrants
  • Departmental Procurement

Other offices held in the past

  • Deputy Prime Minister (25 Oct 2022 to 21 Apr 2023)
  • The Lord Chancellor and Secretary of State for Justice (25 Oct 2022 to 21 Apr 2023)
  • Deputy Prime Minister (15 Sep 2021 to 6 Sep 2022)
  • The Lord Chancellor and Secretary of State for Justice (15 Sep 2021 to 6 Sep 2022)
  • The Secretary of State for Foreign, Commonwealth and Development Affairs ( 2 Sep 2020 to 15 Sep 2021)
  • The Secretary of State for Foreign and Commonwealth Affairs (24 Jul 2019 to 2 Sep 2020)
  • The Secretary of State for Exiting the European Union ( 9 Jul 2018 to 15 Nov 2018)
  • Minister of State (Housing, Communities and Local Government) ( 9 Jan 2018 to 9 Jul 2018)
  • The Minister of State, Ministry of Justice (13 Jun 2017 to 9 Jan 2018)
  • Member, Committee on the Future Relationship with the European Union (31 Oct 2016 to 3 May 2017)
  • The Parliamentary Under-Secretary of State for Justice (13 May 2015 to 16 Jul 2016)
  • Member, Education Committee ( 4 Nov 2013 to 30 Mar 2015)
  • Member, Human Rights (Joint Committee) (26 Jul 2010 to 11 Feb 2013)

Previous MPs in this constituency

Future MPs in this constituency

Public bill committees (Sittings attended)

Recent appearances

  • Energy Security and Net Zero: Public Ownership of Energy System 21 May 2024

    In 1985, just before privatisation, 4.2% of total consumer spending was on energy bills. Between 2000 and 2020, that dropped to between 2% and 3%. Even last year during the war in Ukraine, it only hit 3.6%. Does my hon. Friend agree that, as he has already said, the suggestion from the hon. Member for Blaydon (Liz Twist) would wallop consumers?
  • Renters (Reform) Bill: New Clause 15 - Notices to quit by tenants under assured tenancies: timing 24 Apr 2024

    I recently met Rentstart, a homelessness organisation with a great track record of working with landlords and getting the homeless into rented accommodation. It is slightly concerned that the changes might undermine its relationship with landlords, which it uses to facilitate the finding of homes for many vulnerable constituents and other people who have come into the constituency. In...
  • Energy Security and Net Zero: Fuel Poverty: Winter 2023-24 16 Apr 2024

    In the Office for National Statistics and House of Commons data, fuel poverty in England was 13.5% back in 1996. It rose to 22% by 2010 and, as has already been mentioned, it fell back to 13% in 2023. Does the Minister agree that that shows that Conservatives deliver energy policy with environmental and economic good sense and have done a lot better than the last Labour Government?

More of Dominic Raab’s recent appearances

Note for journalists and researchers: The data on this page may be used freely, on condition that is cited as the source.

This data was produced by TheyWorkForYou from a variety of sources.

For an explanation of the vote descriptions please see our page about voting information on TheyWorkForYou.

Profile photo: © Parliament (CC-BY 3.0)