Jo Swinson

Former Liberal Democrat MP for East Dunbartonshire


Fixed Term Parliaments

Fixed Term Parliaments involve holding general elections on a regular basis, for example every five years, with some exceptions permitting early elections. Without Fixed Term Parliaments a party with a majority had significant influence over the timing of a general election.

Photo: UK Parliament

Jo Swinson generally voted for fixed periods between parliamentary elections

TheyWorkForYou has automatically calculated this MP’s stance based on all of their votes on the topic. You can browse the source data on

All votes about fixed periods between parliamentary elections:

  • On 23 Oct 2014: Jo Swinson was absent for a vote on Repeal of the Fixed-term Parliaments Act 2011 Show vote
  • On 13 Jul 2011: Jo Swinson voted against requiring a resolution of both Houses of Parliament to approve the date of a general election. Show vote
  • On 18 Jan 2011: Jo Swinson voted to hold general elections on a regular basis every five years, with some exceptions permitting early elections. Show vote
  • On 1 Dec 2010: Jo Swinson voted for no exceptions from the five year fixed term of a parliament and against the monarch have powers in relation determining when MPs meet in Parliament. Show vote
  • On 13 Sep 2010: Jo Swinson voted for regular general elections every five years, with some exceptions allowing early elections. Show vote

The office of Jo Swinson MP has informed us that Jo was not available for some votes in the House of Commons from June 2017 until the summer recess, and from October 2017 until December 2017, as she was on parental leave. This affects the numerology section below. Please note that Ms Swinson continued to submit written questions throughout this period.

Note for journalists and researchers: The data on this page may be used freely, on condition that is cited as the source.

For an explanation of the vote descriptions please see our page about voting information on TheyWorkForYou.

Profile photo: © Parliament (CC-BY 3.0)