Philip Dunne

Conservative MP for Ludlow


About your Member of Parliament

Your MP (Philip Dunne) represents you, and all of the people who live in Ludlow, at the UK Parliament in Westminster.

MPs split their time between Parliament and their constituency. In Parliament, they debate and vote on new laws, review existing laws, and question the Government. In the constituency, their focus is on supporting local people and championing local issues. They have a small staff team who help with casework, maintain their diaries, and monitor their inbox.

What you can do


Conservative MP for Ludlow

Entered the House of Commons on 5 May 2005 — General election

Social Media


Topics of interest

Philip Dunne campaigned to remain in the European Union Source: BBC

  • Health
  • Treasury
  • Home Department
  • Environment Food and Rural Affairs
  • Communities and Local Government
  • Diabetes
  • Non-domestic Rates: Garages and Petrol Stations
  • Child Benefit: Personal Records
  • Environmental Stewardship Scheme
  • Sewage: Pollution Control

Currently held offices

  • Member, Committee of Privileges (since 4 Dec 2023)
  • Member, Committee on Standards (since 4 Dec 2023)
  • Member, Liaison Sub-Committee on Scrutiny of Strategic Thinking in Government (since 22 Jun 2023)
  • Member, Environmental Audit Sub-Committee on Polar Research (since 18 Jan 2023)
  • Member, Liaison Sub-Committee on National Policy Statements (since 22 Sep 2021)
  • Member, Liaison Committee (Commons) (since 20 May 2020)
  • Member, European Statutory Instruments Committee (since 10 Feb 2020)
  • Chair, Environmental Audit Committee (since 29 Jan 2020)
  • Chair, Environmental Audit Committee (since 29 Jan 2020)

Other offices held in the past

  • Chair, Environmental Audit Committee (29 Jan 2020 to 6 Nov 2019)
  • Member, European Statutory Instruments Committee (18 Jul 2018 to 6 Nov 2019)
  • Member, Environmental Audit Committee (22 Jan 2018 to 29 Jan 2020)
  • The Minister of State, Department of Health (16 Jul 2016 to 9 Jan 2018)
  • Minister of State (Ministry of Defence) (Defence Procurement) ( 8 May 2015 to 16 Jul 2016)
  • The Parliamentary Under-Secretary of State for Defence ( 6 Sep 2012 to 8 May 2015)
  • Assistant Whip (HM Treasury) (12 May 2010 to 6 Sep 2012)
  • Opposition Whip (Commons) ( 1 Oct 2008 to 6 May 2010)
  • Member, Treasury Committee (17 Jul 2007 to 17 Nov 2008)
  • Member, Public Accounts Committee (24 Jul 2006 to 9 Feb 2009)
  • Member, Work and Pensions Committee (12 Jul 2005 to 23 Oct 2006)

Previous MPs in this constituency

Public bill committees (Sittings attended)

Recent appearances

  • Upcoming Business – Commons: Westminster Hall 1 Jan 1970

    Flood Recovery Framework – Philip Dunne. Westminster Hall debate; 9:30 am – 11:00 am
  • Food Security 21 Mar 2024

    I am grateful to the Minister and all who have spoken for their warm words about the work of my right hon. Friends the Members for Scarborough and Whitby (Sir Robert Goodwill) and for Tunbridge Wells (Greg Clark) from the other Select Committees, and the work that all members of Select Committees put into these reports. I share the Minister’s concern that not a single Back Bencher from any...
  • Food Security 21 Mar 2024

    I hesitate to intervene on my hon. Friend, but he has just referred to TB and the mental health implications of animal health crises for our farmers. I would like to mention to the House that, on my own farm, we have just gone down with TB for the second time in six months. We have had 13 cows in calf—some have just calved, and some are about to calf—that were reactors. We do not yet know...

More of Philip Dunne’s recent appearances

RSS feed (?)

Register of Members’ Interests

New: Download a spreadsheet of all Members Interests.

View the history of this MP’s entries in the Register

Last updated: 18 Mar 2024.

1. Employment and earnings
Partner, Gatley Farms; farming partnership.
For the year ending 5 April 2023, £1,281 annual drawings, agreed on 12 July 2023. Hours: approximately 50 hours per annum. (Registered 19 July 2023)
From 1 July 2020, Non-Executive Director, and Chair from 13 July 2023, of Reaction Engines Ltd (engineering technology developer), Building F5, Culham Science Centre, Abingdon OX14 3DB. From 13 July 2023 until further notice, I receive £5,000 a month. From 18 April 2023 until 12 July 2023, I was Acting Chairman with no additional remuneration. Hours: 16 hrs per month. (Registered 21 July 2020; updated 08 September 2020, 24 August 2021, 09 May 2023 and 19 July 2023)
6. Land and property portfolio: (i) value over £100,000 and/or (ii) giving rental income of over £10,000 a year
Land and property in Herefordshire, some held in trust for life: (i) and (ii).
Interest in land in Surrey: (i) and (ii).
Residential flat in London SW3: (i) and (ii).
From 24 March 2016, a residential flat owned jointly with my wife: (i) and (ii). (Registered 03 May 2016)
7. (i) Shareholdings: over 15% of issued share capital
Nomina 538 LLP, a member of Lloyd’s. (Registered 22 January 2010)
7. (ii) Other shareholdings, valued at more than £70,000
From 22 February 2022, Excession Technologies Ltd, an information technology consultancy. (Registered 21 March 2022)
From 15 March 2022, Reaction Engines Ltd, an engineering technology developer. (Registered 22 April 2022)
8. Miscellaneous
From 12 December 2018, Visiting Professor (unremunerated) at the Institute for Global Health Innovation. (Registered 20 December 2018)
From 11 March 2019, Commissioner on the Commonwealth War Graves Commission. This is an unpaid role. (Registered 17 December 2021)
From 1 January 2001, Trustee (unremunerated) of Henry Hewes Almshouse Trust, a small charity which owns a one bedroom property in Herefordshire. (Registered 13 December 2023)
From 1 January 2001, Trustee (unremunerated) of Peggy Walker Memorial Charitable Trust, a small charity which supports good causes primarily in Herefordshire. (Registered 13 December 2023)

More about the register

Note for journalists and researchers: The data on this page may be used freely, on condition that is cited as the source.

This data was produced by TheyWorkForYou from a variety of sources. Voting information from Public Whip.

Profile photo: © Parliament (CC-BY 3.0)