After Clause 6

Parliamentary Constituencies Bill – in the House of Commons at 6:11 pm on 10th November 2020.

Alert me about debates like this

Votes in this debate

Motion made, and Question put, That this House disagrees with Lords amendment 8.—(Eddie Hughes.)

Division number 166 Parliamentary Constituencies Bill — After Clause 6

Aye: 345 MPs

No: 264 MPs

Ayes: A-Z by last name


Nos: A-Z by last name


The House divided: Ayes 346, Noes 266.

Question accordingly agreed to.

Lords amendment 8 disagreed to.

The list of Members currently certified as eligible for a proxy vote, and of the Members nominated as their proxy, is published at the end of today’s debates.

Motion made, and Question put forthwith (Standing Order No. 83H), That a Committee be appointed to draw up Reasons to be assigned to the Lords for disagreeing to their amendments 1, 2, 6, 7 and 8.

That Mr Jacob Rees-Mogg, Eddie Hughes, Jane Hunt, Chris Clarkson, Cat Smith, Colleen Fletcher and David Linden be members of the Committee;

That Mr Jacob Rees-Mogg be the Chair of the Committee;

That three be the quorum of the Committee.

That the Committee do withdraw immediately.—(Eddie Hughes.)

Question agreed to.

Committee to withdraw immediately; reasons to be reported and communicated to the Lords.

Photo of Eleanor Laing Eleanor Laing Deputy Speaker and Chairman of Ways and Means

In order to observe social distancing, the Reasons Committee will meet not in the Reasons Room but in Committee Room 12.