Maintenance of EU environmental principles and standards

European Union (Withdrawal) Bill – in the House of Commons at 7:43 pm on 13th June 2018.

Alert me about debates like this

Motion made, and Question put, That this House disagrees with Lords amendment 3.—(The Solicitor General.)

The House divided:

Ayes 320, Noes 296.

Division number 185

See full list of votes (From The Public Whip)



Question accordingly agreed to.

Lords amendment 3 disagreed to.

Government amendments (c) and (d) made in lieu of Lords amendment 3.

Lords amendment 24 disagreed to.

Photo of John Bercow John Bercow Speaker of the House of Commons, Chair, Speaker's Committee on the Electoral Commission, Chair, Speaker's Committee for the Independent Parliamentary Standards Authority, Chair, Commons Reference Group on Representation and Inclusion Committee

I call the Minister to move formally that what I believe is correctly described as “amendment little two” to amendment—[Interruption.] For the benefit of those who did not hear, the Minister for Europe and the Americas, Sir Alan Duncan, observed from a sedentary position that the two speaks for both of us.

Government amendment (a) in lieu of Lords amendment 24 proposed.

Government amendment (ii) made to Government amendment (a) in lieu of Lords amendment 24.

Government amendments (a), as amended, and (b) made in lieu of Lords amendment 24.

Lords amendments 32, 6 to 9, 33 to 36, 38, 40 to 42, 159 to 161, 163, 164, 166 to 168, and 170 agreed to.

Motion made, and Question put forthwith (Standing Order No. 83H), That a Committee be appointed to draw up Reasons to be assigned to the Lords for disagreeing to their amendments 4, 5, 10, 20, 37, 39, 43, 45, 51, 52, 110, 125 and 128;

That Mr Steve Baker, Robert Buckland, Emma Hardy, Jessica Morden, Mark Spencer, Keir Starmer and Jeremy Quin be members of the Committee;

That Robert Buckland be the Chair of the Committee;

That three be the quorum of the Committee.

That the Committee do withdraw immediately.—(Paul Maynard.)

Question agreed to.

Committee to withdraw immediately; reasons to be reported and communicated to the Lords.