We need your support to keep TheyWorkForYou running and make sure people across the UK can continue to hold their elected representatives to account.

Donate to our crowdfunder

Scrutiny Committee

European Union (Withdrawal) Bill – in the House of Commons at 9:25 pm on 13th December 2017.

Alert me about debates like this

Votes in this debate

“(1) For the purposes of this Act ‘a scrutiny committee’ refers to either—

(a) the House of Lords Secondary Legislation Scrutiny Committee, or

(b) a Committee of the House of Commons which is established to perform the specific functions assigned to a scrutiny committee in this Act.

(2) The scrutiny committee referred to in subsection (1)(b) shall be chaired by a Member who is—

(a) of the same Party as the Official Opposition, and

(b) elected by the whole House.”—(Matthew Pennycook.)

This new clause establishes the principle that there shall be a Commons triage committee which works alongside the Lords Secondary Legislation Scrutiny Committee to determine the level of scrutiny each statutory instrument shall receive.

Brought up.

Question put, That the clause be added to the Bill.

The House divided:

Ayes 292, Noes 311.

Division number 71 European Union (Withdrawal) Bill — Scrutiny Committee

Aye: 292 MPs

No: 311 MPs

Ayes: A-Z by last name


Nos: A-Z by last name


Question accordingly negatived.

Clause 16 ordered to stand part of the Bill.

Schedule 7