Business of the House

Part of the debate – in the House of Commons at 9:36 am on 28th May 2015.

Alert me about debates like this

Photo of Chris Grayling Chris Grayling Lord President of the Council and Leader of the House of Commons 9:36 am, 28th May 2015

Mr Speaker, I wonder if I might take the liberty first of congratulating you on your re-election to the Chair and of welcoming all new Members to the House, where I hope they will feel they can make a fruitful and purposeful contribution.

The business for next week is as follows:

Monday 1 June—Continuation of the debate on the Gracious Speech, on the subject of Britain in the world.

Tuesday 2 June—Continuation of the debate on the Gracious Speech. The subject will be health and social care.

Wednesday 3 June—Continuation of the debate on the Gracious Speech, on the subject of devolution and growth across Britain.

Thursday 4 June—Conclusion of the debate on the Gracious Speech. The subject will be the economy.

Friday 5 JuneThe House will not be sitting.

The provisional business for the week commencing 8 June will include:

Monday 8 JuneSecond Reading of the Scotland Bill.

Tuesday 9 JuneSecond Reading of the European Union Referendum Bill.

Wednesday 10 JuneOpposition day (1st allotted day). There will be a debate on an Opposition motion. Subject to be announced.

Thursday 11 June—Second Reading of a Bill to be announced.

Friday 12 June—The House will not be sitting.

It might also be helpful if I inform Members of the planned dates for the future Adjournments of the House and for sitting Fridays in the coming Session. The House will rise at close of play on Tuesday 21 July for the summer recess and will return on Monday 7 September. The House will rise for the conference recess on Thursday 17 September and return on Monday 12 October. The House will rise for a short recess on 10 November and return on Monday 16 November. We will rise for the Christmas recess on Thursday 17 December and return on Tuesday 5 January, and we will rise for the February half-term recess on Thursday 11 February and return on Monday 22 February.

The proposed dates for sitting Fridays in the coming Session are: 11 September, 16 October, 23 October, 30 October, 6 November, 20 November, 4 December, 22 January, 29 January, 5 February, 26 February, 4 March and 11 March.

It might also be of interest to Members to know that I intend to bring to the House the motion allocating the Chairs of Select Committees to parties next week, in order to allow the process for the election of Chairs to proceed. I expect the debate to take place next Wednesday.