Intelligence and Security Committee

Part of the debate – in the House of Commons at 3:37 pm on 16th March 2015.

Alert me about debates like this

Photo of Tom Brake Tom Brake Assistant Whip (HM Treasury), The Deputy Leader of the House of Commons 3:37 pm, 16th March 2015

I beg to move,

That Dr Julian Lewis be removed from the Intelligence and Security Committee of Parliament under Schedule 1 to the Justice and Security Act 2013 and Mr Keith Simpson be appointed to that Committee under section 1 of that Act.

Under the terms of section 1 of the Justice and Security Act 2013, members of the Intelligence and Security Committee are nominated by the Prime Minister and appointed by the respective House. The current vacancy for a Conservative member arises from the resignation of Dr Lewis. The Prime Minister has nominated Mr Simpson, following the required consultations with the Leader of the Opposition. The House is now being asked to make the appointment in accordance with the Act.