Regional Select Committee (London)

Part of Consolidated Fund Bill – in the House of Commons at 10:18 pm on 14th December 2009.

Alert me about debates like this

Photo of Barbara Keeley Barbara Keeley The Deputy Leader of the House of Commons 10:18 pm, 14th December 2009

I beg to move,

That Ms Karen Buck, Jeremy Corbyn, Clive Efford, Siobhain McDonagh, Mr Andy Slaughter and Mr Andrew Pelling be members of the London Regional Select Committee.

On 12 November, 2008, my right hon. and learned Friend the Leader of the House committed to bring proposals to the House to establish a Regional Select Committee for London. The House debated and resolved to set up the Committee on 25 June this year. The motion simply asks the House to agree the names for the Committee. The House has already resolved to establish the Committee, which should now be given the opportunity to meet and to take forward its business. My party has nominated five members who are all respected Members of this House and who will, I believe, do a good job of holding to account the Government's activities in London, so I commend the motion to the House.

Embed this video

Copy and paste this code on your website