Draft Human Tissue and Embryos Bill (Joint Committee)

– in the House of Commons at 6:31 pm on 2nd May 2007.

Alert me about debates like this


That this House concurs with the Lords Message of 26th April, that it is expedient that a Joint Committee of Lords and Commons be appointed to consider and report on any draft Human Tissue and Embryos Bill presented to both Houses by a Minister of the Crown and that the Committee should report on the draft Bill by 25th July 2007.


That a Select Committee of nine Members be appointed to join with the Committee appointed by the Lords to consider the draft Human Tissue and Embryos Bill.

That the Committee shall have power—

(i) to send for persons, papers and records;

(ii) to sit notwithstanding any adjournment of the House;

(iii) to report from time to time;

(iv) to appoint specialist advisers; and

(v) to adjourn from place to place within the United Kingdom.

That the quorum of the Committee shall be two; and

That Mr David Burrowes, Ms Katy Clark, Dr Ian Gibson, Robert Key, Chris Mole, Dr Doug Naysmith, Geraldine Smith, Ms Dari Taylor and Mr Phil Willis be members of the Committee. —[Mr. Watts.]