Science and Technology

Committees – in the House of Commons at 10:16 pm on 19th July 2005.

Alert me about debates like this

That Adam Afriyie, Mr Robert Flello, Dr Ian Gibson, Dr Evan Harris, Dr Brian Iddon, Margaret Moran, Mr Brooks Newmark, Anne Snelgrove, Bob Spink, Dr Desmond Turner and Mr Phil Willis be members of the Science and Technology Committee.—[Rosemary McKenna, on behalf of the Committee of Selection.]

Photo of Alistair Carmichael Alistair Carmichael Shadow Spokesperson (Home Affairs), Liberal Democrat Spokesperson (Home Affairs)

On a point of order, Mr. Deputy Speaker. May I ask whether you have had a request from the Secretary of State for Defence to make a statement to the House on the future of the Saxaford RAF station in Unst in Shetland? It has been reported to me today that it is the intention of the Ministry of Defence to make a statement on the future of Saxaford on Thursday, which would be the last sitting day of this Session. I am reminded of the comments of Mr. Speaker in relation to the conduct of the Ministry of Defence in dealing with the future of the RAF bases at Lossiemouth and Leuchars. The RAF station at Saxaford has been an integral and valued part of Unst's community for many years. Unst is one of the remotest—

Photo of Michael Lord Michael Lord Deputy Speaker (Second Deputy Chairman of Ways and Means)

Order. I have got the drift of the hon. Gentleman's point of order. I have no knowledge of a Minister coming to make a statement on the matter that he raises, but he has made his point and his comments are firmly on the record.