Only a few days to go: We’re raising £25,000 to keep TheyWorkForYou running and make sure people across the UK can hold their elected representatives to account.

Donate to our crowdfunder

Procedure (Supply)

– in the House of Commons at 2:14 pm on 19th December 1980.

Alert me about debates like this

Ordered,That a Select Committee be appointed to examine the procedure of the House for considering and voting on the Government's requests for Supply, and to make recommendations.

Ordered,That the Committee do consist of Seventeen Members.

Ordered,That Mr. Gordon A. T. Bagier, Mr. Anthony Beaumont-Dark, Mr. Jock Bruce-Gardyne, Mr. John Cartwright, Mr. Peter Emery, Mr. Michael English, Mr. W. W. Hamilton, Mr. Terence L. Higgins, Mr. Frank Hooley, Mr. Kenneth Lewis, Mr. Robin Maxwell-Hyslop, Mr. J. Enoch Powell, Mr. Giles Radice, Mr. John Roper, Mr. Fred Silvester, Mr. Roger Sims, and Mr. Peter Thomas be members of the Committee.

Ordered,That Six be the quorum of the Committee.

Ordered,That the Committee have power to send for persons, papers and records, to sit notwithstanding any adjournment of the House, and to report from time to time.

Ordered,That the Committee have power to appoint persons with technical knowledge either to supply information which is not readily available or to elucidate matters of complexity within the Committee's orders of reference.—[Mr. John Stradling Thomas.]