Select Committee on Welsh Affairs

– in the House of Commons at 12:00 am on 26th June 1979.

Alert me about debates like this

Motion made, and Question put,


  1. (1) A Select committee shall be appointed, to be called the Committee on Welsh Affairs, to examine the expenditure, administration and policy of the Welsh Office and associated public bodies; and the committee shall consist of a maximum of eleven members, of whom the quorum shall be three.
  2. (2) The Committee shall have power—

(a) to send for persons, papers and records, to sit notwithstanding any adjournment

of the House, to adjourn from place to place, and to report from time to time; and

(b) to appoint persons with technical knowledge either to supply information which is not readily available or to elucidate matters of complexity within the committee's order of reference.

(3) Unless the House otherwise orders, all Members nominated to the committee appointed under this Order shall continue to be members of the committee for the remainder of the Parliament.

That this Order be a Standing Order of the House—[Mr. Cope.]

The House divided: Ayes 187, Noes 10.

Division No.29]AYES[6.51 p.m.
Alexander, RichardDunn, Robert (Dartford)Lang, Ian
Amery, Rt Hon JulianEdwards, Rt Hon N. (Pembroke)Langford-Holt, Sir John
Ancram, MichaelElliott, Sir WilliamLawrence, Ivan
Arnold, TomEnglish, MichaelLee, John
Aspinwall, JackFairgrieve, RussellLe Marchant, Spencer
Atkins, Rt Hon H. (Spelthorne)Faith, Mrs SheilaLennox-Boyd, Hon Mark
Atkins, Robert (Preston North)Fenner, Mrs PeggyLester, Jim (Beeston)
Baker, Nicholas (North Dorset)Finsberg, GeoffreyLloyd, Peter (Fareham)
Bendall, VivianFisher, Sir NigelMcCrindle, Robert
Berry, Hon AnthonyFletcher, Alexander (Edinburgh N)MacGregor, John
Best, KeithFookes, Miss JanetMackay, John (Argyll)
Bevan, David GilroyForman, NigelMcNair-Wilson, Patrick (New Forest)
Biggs-Davison, JohnFox, MarcusMcQuarrie, Albert
Blackburn, JohnFraser, Peter (South Angus)Major, John
Bottomley, Peter (Woolwich West)Gardner, Edward (South Fylde)Marland, Paul
Braine, Sir BernardGarel-Jones, TristanMarlow, Antony
Bright, GrahamGlyn, Dr AlanMarten, Neil (Banbury)
Brinton, TimothyGorst, JohnMather, Carol
Brittan, Leon
Brocklebank-Fowler, ChristopherGow, IanMaude, Rt Hon Angus
Brooke, Hon PeterGower, Sir RaymondMawby, Ray
Brown, Michael (Brigg & Sc'thorpe)Greenway, HarryMawhinney, Dr Brian
Bruce-Gardyne, JohnGriffiths, Peter (Portsmouth N)Maxwell-Hyslop, Robin
Budgen, NickGrist, IanMellor, David
Bulmer, EsmondGrylls, MichaelMeyer, Sir Anthony
Butcher, JohnGummer, John SelwynMiller, Hal (Bromsgrove & Redditch)
Cadbury, JocelynHannam, JohnMills, Iain (Meriden)
Carlisle, John (Luton West)Hawkins, PaulMills, Peter (West Devon)
Carlisle, Kenneth (Lincoln)Hawksley, WarrenMoate, Roger
Chalker, Mrs. LyndaHeddle, JohnMontgomery, Fergus
Chapman, SydneyHenderson, BarryMorgan, Geraint
Clark, Hon Alan (Plymouth, Sutton)Hicks, RobertMorrison, Hon Peter (City of Chester)
Clark, William (Croydon South)Higgins, Terence L.Mudd, David
Clarke, Kenneth (Rushcliffe)Hill, JamesMurphy, Christopher
Cockeram, EricHolland, Philip (Carlton)Myles, David
Colvin, MichaelHunt, David (Wirral)Needham, Richard
Cope, JohnHunt, John (Ravensbourne)Nelson, Anthony
Corrie, JohnIrving, Charles (Cheltenham)Neubert, Michael
Cranborne, ViscountJohnson Smith, GeoffreyNewton, Tony
Critchley, JulianJopling, Rt Hon MichaelNormanton, Tom
Dean, Paul (North Somerset)Kaberry, Sir DonaldOnslow, Cranley
Dorrell, StephenKing, Rt Hon TomPage, Rt Hon R Graham (Crosby)
Dover, DenshoreKitson, Sir TimothyParris, Matthew
Dunlop, JohnKnox, DavidPatten, Christopher (Bath)
Patten, John (Oxford)Shersby, MichaelWaddington, David
Pawsey, JamesSilvester, FredWakeham, John
Percival, Sir IanSims, RogerWaldegrave, Hon William
Pollock, AlexanderSkeet, T. H. H.Walker-Smith, Rt Hon Sir Derek
Porter, GeorgeSpeller, TonyWall, Patrick
Price, David (Eastleigh)Spicer, Jim (West Dorset)Waller, Gary
Proctor, K. HarveySproat, IainWard, John
Pym, Rt Hon FrancisSquire, RobinWatson, John
Raison, TimothyStanbrook, IvorWells, P. Bowen (Hert'rd&Stev'nage)
Rathbone, TimSteen, AnthonyWheeler, John
Rhodes James, RobertStevens, MartinWhitelaw, Rt Hon William
Rhys Williams, Sir BrandonStewart, Ian (Hitchin)Wickenden, Keith
Rifkind, MalcolmStradling Thomas, J.Williams, Delwyn (Montgomery)
Roberts, Michael (Cardiff NW)Temple-Morris, PeterWinterton, Nicholas
Roberts, Wyn (Conway)Thompson, DonaldWolfson, Mark
Rost, peterThorne, Neil (Ilford South)Young, Sir George (Acton)
Sainsbury, Hon TimothyThornton, George
Shaw, Michael (Scarborough)Townend, John (Bridlington)TELLERS FOR THE AYES:
Shelton, William (Streatham)Trippier, DavidLord James Douglas-Hamilton and
Shepherd, Colin (Hereford)Viggers, PeterMr. Robert Boscawen.
Shepherd, Richard (Aldridge-Br'hills)
Beith, A. J.Stewart, Rt Hon Donald (W Isles)
Cryer, BobThomas, Dafydd (Merioneth)
Freud, ClementWigley, Dafydd
Grimond, Rt Hon J.
Ross, Stephen (Isle of wight)TELLERS FOR THE NOES:
skinner, DennisMr. Geraint Howells and
Steel, Rt Hon DavidMr. Gordon Wilson.

Question accordingly agreed to.