Kiosks, Rural Areas

Part of Oral Answers to Questions — Telephone Service – in the House of Commons at 12:00 am on 27th July 1949.

Alert me about debates like this

Photo of Mr Wilfred Paling Mr Wilfred Paling , Wentworth 12:00 am, 27th July 1949

The quotas of telephone kiosks allotted to the rural areas of each county in Wales are: Anglesey, 6; Caernarvon, 12; Denbigh, 16; Flint, 5; Merioneth, 13; Montgomery, 16; Brecknock, 12; Cardigan, 16; Carmarthen, 21; Glamorgan, 10; Monmouth, 9; Pembroke, 13; Radnor, 10.

Under the new plan for the provision of rural kiosks, applications are made to rural district councils, and the county branches of the Rural District Councils' Association recommend to the Post Office the order in which the kiosks should be installed in each county. It is hoped that work on the kiosks approved under the new plan will commence in the autumn, but in the meantime work already started on any kiosks agreed to under the previous scheme is being completed.