Land Commission (Constitution)

Oral Answers to Questions — Agriculture – in the House of Commons at 12:00 am on 8th December 1947.

Alert me about debates like this

Photo of Baroness  Noel-Buxton Baroness Noel-Buxton , Norwich 12:00 am, 8th December 1947

asked the Minister of Agriculture whether he is now in a position to announce the constitution of the Agricultural Land Commission and the Welsh Sub-Commission.

Photo of Mr Thomas Williams Mr Thomas Williams , Don Valley

Yes, Sir. I am glad to say that Sir Frederick Burrows has accepted the chairmanship of the Agricultural Land Commission. There will, to start with, be four other members. Sir Bryner Jones will be the Welsh member, and will act as the deputy chairman of the main Commission and chairman of the Welsh Sub-Commission. The other members are the Hon. Geoffrey Bourke, Mr. Watson Jones and Sir Francis Wylie. The other members of the Welsh Sub-Commission are Colonel Llewellyn Humphreys, Mr. D. Morgan Rees and Colonel Wynne Finch. All the appointments will for the present be on a part-time basis, and the initial term of office will be for three years. I am circulating brief particulars about the members in the OFFICIAL REPORT. The Commission and Sub-Commission will start work on 1st January, 1948

Mr. Vane:

Which of the members of the English committee, except for the hon. Geoffrey Bourke, whose reputation is well known, have had any experience in the management of land?

Photo of Mr Thomas Williams Mr Thomas Williams , Don Valley

All the members already chosen have experience of administration and management of things generally.

Following are the particulars of members: