Allied Committee of Guarantees.

Oral Answers to Questions — Peace Treaties. – in the House of Commons on 25th July 1922.

Alert me about debates like this



asked the Chancellor of the Exchequer who are the members of the Allied Committee of Guarantees dealing with Germany; whether the Committee has any powers beyond the right of inspection; if so, what powers and what means of enforcing them; and whether it is proposed to call into counsel again the leading bankers of Europe and of the United States?

Photo of Sir Robert Horne Sir Robert Horne , Glasgow Hillhead

The members of the Committee of Guarantees which is appointed by and responsible to the Reparation Commission are Monsieur Nauclére (France), Signor d'Amelio (Italy), Monsieur Bemelmans (Belgium), and Mr. Kemball-Cook (Great Britain), with Colonel Logan (United States of America) as Unofficial American Representatives. The powers of the Committee, are set out in sub-paragraph (d) of paragraph 12 (a) added to Annex II to Part VIII of the Treaty of Versailles by the Protocol signed at London on the 5th May, 1921. (The Protocol printed as Command Paper, Command 1349 of 1921.) In reply to the last part of the question, the reconvening of the Committee of Bankers is a matter for the Reparation Commission by whom it was appointed.