House of Commons debates

Monday, 31 October 2016

  • Oral Answers to Questions — Home Department

    The Secretary of State was asked—

  • NHS Funding

    97 speeches

    (Urgent Question): To ask the Secretary of State if he will make a statement on NHS funding.

  • Improving Lives: Work, Health and Disability Green Paper

    57 speeches

    With permission, Mr Speaker, I would like to make a statement on the Green Paper being published today by my Department, together with the Department of Health. This Government are determined to...

  • Nissan: Sunderland

    92 speeches

    With permission, Mr Speaker, I wish to make a statement about Nissan in Sunderland. Last Thursday, 27 October, the Nissan Motor Company Ltd announced that, following a meeting of its executive...

  • Cultural Property (Armed Conflicts) Bill [Lords] (Programme)

    Motion made, and Question put forthwith ( Standing Order No. 83A(7)), That the following provisions shall apply to the Cultural Property (Armed Conflicts) Bill [Lords]: Committal (1) The Bill...

    • House of Commons Commission

      Ordered, That Dame Rosie Winterton be appointed to the House of Commons Commission in place of Mr Nicholas Brown under the House of Commons (Administration) Act 1978, as amended.—(Michael...

  • Business without Debate

    • Delegated Legislation

      Motion made, and Question put forthwith ( Standing Order No. 118(6)),

    • Terrorism Prevention and Investigation

      That the draft Terrorism Prevention and Investigation Measures Act 2011 (Continuation) Order 2016, which was laid before this House on 4 July, be approved.—(Christopher Pincher.) Question...

  • Committees

    1 speech

    We now come to motions 5 and 6, which relate to new Committees of the House. I suggest that they be taken together. Ordered,

    • Exiting the European Union

      That Alistair Burt, Mr Alistair Carmichael, Maria Caulfield, Joanna Cherry, Jonathan Edwards, Michael Gove, Peter Grant, Andrea Jenkyns, Jeremy Lefroy, Mr Peter Lilley, Karl McCartney, Mr Pat...

    • International Trade

      1 speech

      That Liam Byrne, James Cleverly, Mr Nigel Evans, Marcus Fysh, Mr Ranil Jayawardena, Sir Edward Leigh, Chris Leslie, Shabana Mahmood, Toby Perkins and Sir Desmond Swayne be members of the...

      Backbench Business

      Ordered, That Wendy Morton be discharged from the Backbench Business Committee and Dr Poulter be added.

      Business, Energy and Industrial Strategy

      That Paul Blomfield and Jonathan Reynolds be discharged from the Business, Energy and Industrial Strategy Committee and Albert Owen and Anna Turley be added.

      Communities and Local Government

      That Liz Kendall and Jim McMahon be discharged from the Communities and Local Government Committee and Rushanara Ali and Melanie Onn be added.


      That Richard Benyon be discharged from the Defence Committee and Jack Lopresti be added.


      That Stephen Timms be discharged from the Education Committee and Lilian Greenwood be added.

      Environment, Food and Rural Affairs

      That Valerie Vaz be discharged from the Environment, Food and Rural Affairs Committee and Kerry McCarthy be added.

      Environmental Audit

      That Jo Churchill and Rebecca Pow be discharged from the Environmental Audit Committee and Glyn Davies and Matthew Offord be added.

      Foreign Affairs

      That Yasmin Qureshi be discharged from the Foreign Affairs Committee and Ian Murray be added.


      That Julie Cooper, Andrew Percy, Emma Reynolds and Paula Sherriff be discharged from the Health Committee and Heidi Alexander, Luciana Berger, Rosie Cooper and Andrew Selous be added.

      Home Affairs

      That Victoria Atkins be discharged from the Home Affairs Committee and Byron Davies be added.

      International Development

      That Mrs Helen Grant be discharged from the International Development Committee and Paul Scully be added.—(Bill Wiggin, on behalf of the Committee of Selection.)

      Justice Committee

      22 speeches

      I beg to move, That Chris Elmore and Dr Rupa Huq be discharged from the Justice Committee and Kate Green and Keith Vaz be added. This motion is the decision of the Committee of Selection. It...


      1 speech

      With the leave of the House, we will take motions 19 to 25 together. Ordered,


      That Ian Blackford be discharged from the Petitions Committee and Martyn Day be added.


      That Jenny Chapman be discharged from the Procedure Committee and Melanie Onn be added.

      Public Accounts

      That David Mowat and Mr Stewart Jackson be discharged from the Committee of Public Accounts and Charlie Elphicke and Kwasi Kwarteng be added.

      Public Administration and Constitutional Affairs

      That Oliver Dowden, Mr David Jones and Tom Tugendhat be discharged from the Public Administration and Constitutional Affairs Committee and Marcus Fysh, Adam Holloway and Dr Poulter be added.


      That Mary Glindon be discharged from the Transport Committee and Clive Efford be added.


      That Mark Garnier be discharged from the Treasury Committee and Kit Malthouse be added.

      Work and Pensions

      That Jeremy Quin and Craig Williams be discharged from the Work and Pensions Committee and James Cartlidge and Luke Hall be added.—(Bill Wiggin, on behalf of the Committee of Selection.)

      Social Housing: Regulation

      6 speeches

      Motion made, and Question proposed, That this House do now adjourn.—(Mark Spencer.)

What is this?

Debates in the House of Commons are an opportunity for MPs from all parties to scrutinise government legislation and raise important local, national or topical issues.

And sometimes to shout at each other.

October 2016
Mon Tue Wed Thu Fri Sat Sun