House of Commons debates

Thursday, 8 November 2007

  • Speaker's Statement

    1 speech

    On 25 October the House agreed new temporary Standing Orders about time limits on speeches, including special limits for topical debates and, for the first time, limits on Front-Bench speeches....

  • Business of the House

    48 speeches

    May I ask the Leader of the House to give us the forthcoming business?

  • Point of Order

    2 speeches

    On a point of order, Mr. Speaker. I wish to apologise to you and to the House for remarks made on "Newsnight" the other evening, in which I suggested, incorrectly, that you were asleep during...

    • bills presented — Channel Tunnel Rail Link (Supplementary Provisions)

      Secretary Ruth Kelly, supported by the Prime Minister, Mr. Chancellor of the Exchequer, Secretary David Miliband, Secretary Hazel Blears, Andy Burnham, Tessa Jowell and Mr. Tom Harris, presented...

    • Crossrail

      Secretary Ruth Kelly, supported by the Prime Minister, Mr. Chancellor of the Exchequer, Secretary Hilary Benn, Mr. Secretary Hutton, Ms Harriet Harman, Secretary Hazel Blears and Secretary James...

      Sale of Student Loans

      Secretary John Denham, supported by the Prime Minister, Mr. Chancellor of the Exchequer, Secretary Ed Balls, Andy Burnham, Jane Kennedy, Huw Irranca-Davies, Ian Pearson and Bill Rammell,...

  • Orders of the Day

    • Debate on the Address

      [Third Day] Order read for resuming adjourned debate on Question [ 6 November], That an Humble Address be presented to Her Majesty, as follows: Most Gracious Sovereign, We, Your Majesty's most...

    • Local Government and Environment, Food and Rural Affairs

      168 speeches

      It is a privilege to open this section of the debate on the Gracious Speech. I wish to start by paying tribute to the four firefighters who lost their lives in Warwickshire last weekend: John...

  • Committees

    1 speech

    With the leave of the House, I will put motions 5 to 20 together. Ordered,

    • Business, Enterprise and Regulatory Reform

      That Mr Adrian Bailey, Roger Berry, Mr Brian Binley, Mr Michael Clapham, Mr Lindsay Hoyle, Mr Mark Hunter, Miss Julie Kirkbride, Peter Luff, Anne Moffat, Mr Anthony Wright and Richard...

    • Children, Schools and Families

      That Mrs Annette Brooke, Ms Dawn Butler, Mr Douglas Carswell, Mr David Chaytor, Mr John Heppell, Fiona Mactaggart, Mrs Maria Miller, Mr Andrew Pelling, Joan Ryan, Mr Barry Sheerman, Mr Andy...

      Communities and Local Government

      That David Wright be discharged from the Communities and Local Government Committee and Jim Dobbin be added.

      Environmental Audit

      That Mr Edward Vaizey be discharged from the Environmental Audit Committee and Gregory Barker be added.

      Environment, Food and Rural Affairs

      That Mrs Madeleine Moon and Mr Jamie Reed be discharged from the Environment, Food and Rural Affairs Committee and Dr Gavin Strang and Paddy Tipping be added.

      European Scrutiny

      That Mr Wayne David and Nia Griffith be discharged from the European Scrutiny Committee and Mr Adrian Bailey and Keith Hill be added.

      Innovation, Universities and Skills

      That Adam Afriyie, Dr Roberta Blackman-Woods, Mr Ian Cawsey, Mrs Nadine Dorries, Dr Ian Gibson, Dr Evan Harris, Dr Brian Iddon, Mr Gordon Marsden, Bob Spink, Ian Stewart, Graham Stringer, Dr...

      International Development

      That Joan Ruddock be discharged from the International Development Committee and Mr Stephen Crabb be added.

      Joint Committee on Human Rights

      That Nia Griffith and Mark Tami be discharged from the Joint Committee on Human Rights and John Austin and Mr Virendra Sharma be added.

      Joint Committee on Tax Law Rewrite Bills

      That Mark Tami be discharged from the Joint Committee on Tax Law Rewrite Bills and Mr Quentin Davies be added.

      Northern Ireland Affairs

      That Stephen Pound be discharged from the Northern Ireland Affairs Committee and Kate Hoey be added.

      Public Accounts

      That Chris Bryant, Ian Lucas, Mr Iain Wright and Derek Wyatt be discharged from the Committee of Public Accounts and Nigel Griffiths, Keith Hill, Geraldine Smith and Phil Wilson be added.

      Scottish Affairs

      That Mr Jim McGovern be discharged from the Scottish Affairs Committee and Mr David Hamilton be added.


      That Angela Eagle be discharged from the Treasury Committee and Nick Ainger be added.

      Welsh Affairs

      That Mr Wayne David be discharged from the Welsh Affairs Committee and Alun Michael be added.

      Work and Pensions

      That Natascha Engel be discharged from the Work and Pensions Committee and Tom Levitt be added. ——[Liz Blackman, on behalf of the Committee of Selection].

  • Summer Recess (Duration)

    16 speeches

    Motion made, and Question proposed, That this House do now adjourn. —[Mr. Watson.]

What is this?

Debates in the House of Commons are an opportunity for MPs from all parties to scrutinise government legislation and raise important local, national or topical issues.

And sometimes to shout at each other.

November 2007
Mon Tue Wed Thu Fri Sat Sun