Previous business
Wednesday, 27 June 2018

Commons: Main Chamber   See this day →

  • Chancellor of the Duchy of Lancaster and the Minister for the Cabinet Office (including Topical Questions) Oral questions; 11:30 am
  • Prime Minister's Question Time 12:00 pm
  • Privately funded prisons – Richard Burgon Urgent question
  • Toilets (Provision and Accessibility) – Paula Sherriff Ten Minute Rule Motion
  • Offensive Weapons Bill - 2nd reading Legislation
  • Offensive Weapons Bill – Mel Stride Money Resolution
  • Governance issues at Blackpool Teaching Hospitals NHS Foundation Trust – Gordon Marsden Adjournment debate

Lords: Main Chamber   See this day →

  • Monitoring of hate speech against non-Muslims in preaching in mosques and teaching in madrassas in England and Wales – Lord Pearson of Rannoch Oral questions; 3:00 pm
  • What benefit the Government anticipate from the increased funding recently announced for grammar schools – Lord Bassam of Brighton Oral questions
  • Impact of the outcome of the general election on 24 June on the govenment of Turkey’s treatment of those in prison – Lord Balfe Oral questions
  • Review of the effectiveness of the National Probation Service – Lord Beecham Oral questions
  • Government's plans for more privately financed prisons – Lord Keen of Elie Statement
  • Civil Liability Bill [HL] - Third reading – Lord Keen of Elie Legislation
  • Domestic Gas and Electricity (Tariff Cap) Bill - Report stage – Lord Henley Legislation
  • Immigration (Guidance on Detention of Vulnerable Persons) Regulations and the Detention Centre (Amendment) Rules 2018 - Motion to regret – Lord Ramsbotham Orders and regulations
  • Estimated rising time; 8:30 pm

Commons: Westminster Hall   See this day →

  • Provision of healthcare on English islands – Bob Seely Westminster Hall debate; 9:30 am
  • Removal of shooting sports from Birmingham 2022 Commonwealth Games – Alister Jack Westminster Hall debate; 11:00 am
  • Future of the Scottish economy – Ged Killen Westminster Hall debate; 2:30 pm
  • BAME blood, stem cell and organ donation – Mohammad Yasin Westminster Hall debate; 4:00 pm
  • Protection of British flora from imported diseases – Hugo Swire Westminster Hall debate; 4:30 pm

Commons: General Committees

  • Public Bill Committee: Parliamentary Constituencies (Amendment) Bill - 7th sitting 9:30 am; Room 11, Palace of Westminster

Commons: Select Committees

Housing, Communities and Local Government: Independent review of building regulations 9:15 am; Room 8, Palace of Westminster
Witnesses: Peter Caplehorn, Deputy Chief Executive and Policy Director, Construction Products Association Mirella Vitale, Senior Vice President (Group Marketing, Communications and Public Affairs), Rockwool Richard Burnley, Managing Director (Britain and Ireland), Kingspan Insulation Adrian Dobson, Executive Director, Royal Institute of British Architects Dr Debbie Smith, Managing Director, BRE Global Claire Curtis-Thomas, Chief Executive Officer, British Board of Agrément Mark Hardingham, Chair (Protection and Business Safety Committee), National Fire Chiefs Council Sir Ken Knight, Chair of the Independent Expert Advisory Panel
Education: Accountability hearings 9:30 am; Room 6, Palace of Westminster
Witnesses: Rt Hon Damian Hinds MP, Secretary of State, Department for Education
Northern Ireland Affairs: Update from the PSNI 9:30 am; The Thatcher Room, Portcullis House
Witnesses: George Hamilton QPM, Chief Constable, Police Service of Northern Ireland Stephen Martin QPM, Assistant Chief Constable, Police Service of Northern Ireland
Environment, Food and Rural Affairs: Dangerous Dogs: Breed Specific Legislation 9:30 am; The Grimond Room, Portcullis House
Witnesses: Deputy Chief Constable Gareth Pritchard, lead for dangerous dogs, National Police Chiefs Council Inspector Patrick O'Hara, Dog Training School & Status Dog Unit, Metropolitan Police Service Mark Berry, Chairman, National Companion Animal Forum David Joyce, National Health, Safety & Environment Officer, Communication Workers Union Guy Smith, Deputy President, National Farmers Union
Work and Pensions: Benefit Sanctions 9:30 am; The Wilson Room, Portcullis House
Witnesses: Alok Sharma MP, Minister of State for Employment, Department of Work and Pensions Neil Couling CBE, Director Universal Credit Programme Iain Walsh, Director of Labour Market Strategy & International Affairs Colin Stewart, Universal Credit Operations Area Director (North)
High Speed Rail (West Midlands-Crewe) Bill: High Speed Rail (West Midlands-Crewe) Bill 9:35 am; Room 5, Palace of Westminster
Witnesses: 80 - Peter and Lorraine Bailey, Petitioners 179 and AP1/19 - Trevor and Jean Tabernor, Petitioners 132 - Gillan and Suzan Paris, Petitioners 111 and AP1/6 - Keith John and Gillian June Ralls, Petitioners 100 - Brian and Judith Williams, Petitioners 46 - Robert Birchill, Petitioner
Women and Equalities: Sexual harassment of women and girls in public places 9:50 am; Room 16, Palace of Westminster
Witnesses: Dr Geetanjali Gangoli, Senior Lecturer, University of Bristol Hareem Ghani, Women's Officer, National Union of Students Yvonne Hawkins, Director of teaching excellence and student experience, Office for Students DI Ash Cooper, British Transport Police Dr Jackie Gray, Associate Professor in Forensic Psychology, Middlesex University Elaine Hindal, Chief Executive, Drinkaware Anton Walden, Licensing Officer, Canterbury City Council
High Speed Rail (West Midlands-Crewe) Bill: High Speed Rail (West Midlands-Crewe) Bill 2:05 pm; Room 5, Palace of Westminster
Witnesses: As for morning session unless already heard
Treasury: SME Finance 2:15 pm; The Grimond Room, Portcullis House
Witnesses: John Glen MP, Economic Secretary to the Treasury Philip Duffy, Director, Enterprise and Growth, HM Treasury David Raw, Deputy Director, Banking and Credit, HM Treasury
European Scrutiny: EU Withdrawal 2:15 pm; Room 16, Palace of Westminster
Witnesses: Dr Katy Hayward, Queen's University Belfast Shanker Singham, Director of the International Trade and Competition Unit with the Institute of Economic Affairs Dr Lorand Bartels, reader in international law at the University of Cambridge Professor David Collins, Professor of International Law with City university
Public Accounts: Home Office performance: progress review 2:30 pm; Room 6, Palace of Westminster
Witnesses: Sir Philip Rutnam, Permanent Secretary Stephen Webb, Director, Law Enforcement Programmes Paul Lincoln, Director General, UK Border Force, Home Office

Lords: Select Committees

Middle Level Bill Committee: Middle Level Bill 10:00 am; Room 4, Palace of Westminster
EU Energy and Environment Sub-Committee: The Future of REACH regulations post-Brexit 10:00 am; Room 2, Palace of Westminster
Witnesses: (at 10:30 AM) Ms Anita Lloyd, Legal Director, Squire Patton Boggs Ms Roz Bulleid, Head of Climate, Energy and Environment Policy, EEF Ms Libby Peak, Senior policy adviser, Green Alliance Ms Silvia Segna, REACH Executive, Chemical Industries Association Mr Peter Smith, Executive Director for Product Stewardship, Cefic
EU Financial Affairs Sub-Committee: Private Meeting 10:00 am; Room 4A, Palace of Westminster
Constitution Committee: Private Meeting 10:15 am; Room 1, Palace of Westminster
EU Home Affairs Sub-Committee: Private Meeting 10:30 am; Room 3, Palace of Westminster
Liaison Committee (Lords): Review of investigative and scrutiny committees 10:30 am; Room 3A, Palace of Westminster
Witnesses: (at 10:40 AM) Mr Christopher Warner, Head of Policy and Legislation Committee Service , Welsh Assembly (at 11:25 AM) Mr Ken Hughes, Assistant Chief Executive, The Scottish Parliament
International Relations Committee: Private Meeting 10:30 am; Archbishops' Room, Millbank House
Middle Level Bill Committee: Middle Level Bill 2:00 pm; Room 4, Palace of Westminster
Finance Committee (Lords): Private Meeting 4:15 pm; Other