Upcoming business
Wednesday, 28 February 2018

Commons: Main Chamber

  • International Development (including Topical Questions) Oral questions; 11:30 am
  • Prime Minister's Question Time 12:00 pm
  • Details to be provided – John Mann Ten Minute Rule Motion

Lords: Main Chamber

  • Discussions with the Competition and Markets Authority about the impact on UK retail trade of online suppliers such as Amazon – Lord Naseby Oral questions; 3:00 pm
  • Cost benefits to the NHS and police of minimum unit pricing for alcohol in England – Lord Rennard Oral questions
  • UN Committee on the Rights of Persons with Disabilities report on the lack of accessibility standards in the UK in relation to transport and the physical environment – Baroness Deech Oral questions
  • European Union (Withdrawal) Bill - Committee stage (day 3) – Lord Callanan Legislation
  • Investing in nursing globally and the impact of such investment on improving health, promoting gender equality and strengthening local economies – Lord Crisp Short debate

Commons: Westminster Hall

  • Funding higher education – Gary Streeter Westminster Hall debate; 9:30 am – 11:00 am
  • Death by dangerous driving sentencing – Eddie Hughes Westminster Hall debate; 11:00 am – 11:30 am
  • Anti-corruption strategy and the illegal wildlife trade – Rupa Huq Westminster Hall debate; 2:30 pm – 4:00 pm
  • Equality of voting ages in the UK – Danielle Rowley Westminster Hall debate; 4:00 pm – 4:30 pm
  • Pensions auto-enrolment – Michelle Donelan Westminster Hall debate; 4:30 pm – 5:30 pm

Commons: Select Committees

Environment, Food and Rural Affairs: Labour constraints 9:30 am; Other
Witnesses: David Camp, Chief Executive, Association of Labour Providers Chris Chinn, Cobrey Farms Andrew Clark, Director of Policy, National Farmers Union Dr Zoe Davies, Chief Executive, National Pig Association Gudrun Ravetz, Senior Vice President, British Veterinary Association Fiona Steiger, British Meat Processors Association
Northern Ireland Affairs: Devolution and democracy in Northern Ireland – dealing with the deficit 9:30 am; Other
Witnesses: Rt Hon the Lord Murphy of Torfaen Rt Hon Karen Bradley MP, Secretary of State for Northern Ireland Sir Jonathan Stephens KCB, Permanent Secretary, Northern Ireland Office
Work and Pensions: European Social Fund 9:30 am; Other
Witnesses: Steve Hawkins, Chief Executive Officer, Pluss Richard Cliffton, Integrated Services Director, Shaw Trust Sam Windett, Head of Policy, Employment Related Services Association Elizabeth Chamberlain, Head of Policy, National Council for Voluntary Organisations
International Trade: UK-US trade relations 9:50 am; Other
Witnesses: His Excellency Alexander Downer, High Commissioner of Australia to the United Kingdom
Women and Equalities: Older people and employment 10:00 am; Other
Witnesses: Andy Briggs, Government Business Champion for Older workers
Business, Energy and Industrial Strategy: Industrial Strategy: Sector Deals and Productivity 10:00 am; Other
Witnesses: Lord Adonis, Former Chair, National Infrastructure Commission Dame Kate Barker, Chair, The Industrial Strategy Commission Professor Richard Jones, Member, The Industrial Strategy Commission Dr Craig Berry, Member, The Industrial Strategy Commission
Treasury: Household finances: income, saving and debt 2:15 pm; Other
Witnesses: Matt Upton, Head of Consumer Policy, Citizens Advice Phil Andrew, Chief Executive, StepChange John Montague, Managing Director, Big Issue Group Hamish Paton, CEO, BrightHouse Paul Smith, Chief Executive Officer, Morses Club Richard Fuller, Managing Director, The Cash Shop
Environmental Audit: Nitrate 2:15 pm; Other
Witnesses: Professor David Reay, Chair in Carbon Management, University of Edinburgh Professor Robert Ward, Director of Science, British Geological Survey Professor Helen Jarvie, Principal Scientist Hydrochemistry, Centre for Ecology and Hydrology Professor Penny Johnes, Professor of Biogeochemistry, University of Bristol Hannah Freeman, Chair, Wildlife and Countryside Link Will Andrews Tipper, Head of Natural Environment, Green Alliance
Public Accounts: Adult Social Care Workforce 2:30 pm; Other
Witnesses: Sir Chris Wormald, Permanent Secretary, Department of Health Graham Duncan, Head of Care and Reform, Jo Farrar, Director General, Community Care, Department of Communities and Local Government Sharon Allen, Chief Executive, Skills for Care
Environment, Food and Rural Affairs: Post-Brexit Trade in Sugar 2:45 pm; Other
Witnesses: Dr Mark Carr, Chief Executive Officer, AB Sugar Gerald Mason, Senior Vice President of Tate & Lyle Sugars, Corporate Affairs Paul Radford, Director, Sopex London Ltd Professor Jack Winkler, Emeritus Professor of Nutrition Policy, London Metropolitan University
Human Rights: Human Rights: attitudes to enforcement 3:15 pm; Other
Witnesses: Steve Hynes, Director, Legal Action Group Nimrod Ben-Cnaan, Head of Policy and Profile, Law Centres Network Rachel Logan, Law and Human Rights Programme Director, Amnesty International UK Kamena Dorling, Group Head of Policy & Public Affairs, Coram Children’s Legal Centre

Lords: Select Committees

EU Financial Affairs Sub-Committee: Private Meeting 10:00 am; Room 4A, Palace of Westminster
EU Energy and Environment Sub-Committee: Brexit: food security 10:00 am; Room 2, Palace of Westminster
Witnesses: (at 10:30 AM) Mr George Eustice MP, Minister of State for Agriculture, Fisheries and Food
International Relations Committee: Foreign policy in changed world conditions 10:30 am; Room 4, Palace of Westminster
Witnesses: (at 10:30 AM) Mr Tom Fletcher CMG (at 11:30 AM) Dr Andrea Calderaro, Director, Centre for Internet and Global Politics, Cardiff University Dr Madeline Carr, Associate Professor of International Relations and Cyber Security, University College London Professor Philip Howard, Professor of Internet Studies and Director of Research, Oxford Internet Institute
Delegated Powers and Regulatory Reform Committee: Private Meeting 10:30 am; Room 2A, Palace of Westminster
International Relations Committee: Foreign policy in changed world conditions 2:00 pm; Room 2, Palace of Westminster
Witnesses: (at 2:00 PM) Dr Richard Haass, President, Council on Foreign Relations