Upcoming business
Tuesday, 23 January 2018

Commons: Main Chamber

  • Justice - including Topical Questions Oral questions; 11:30 am
  • Pedicabs (London) – Paul Scully Ten Minute Rule Motion
  • Nuclear Safeguards Bill - Remaining Stages Legislation
  • Telecommunications Infrastructure (Relief from Non-Domestic Rates) Bill - Consideration of Lords Amendments Legislation
  • Funding for the treatment of children diagnosed with Neuroblastoma – Kwasi Kwarteng Adjournment debate

Lords: Main Chamber

  • Fortification of flour with folic acid to reduce pregnancies affected by neural tube defects – Lord Rooker Oral questions; 2:30 pm
  • Robberies and assaults by gangs on scooters or mopeds – Lord St John of Bletso Oral questions
  • Supporting sustainable public services and good governance in sub-Saharan Africa – Lord Bruce of Bennachie Oral questions
  • Government support for Palestinian refugees following the decision by the US to cut funding to the UN Relief and Works Agency for Palestine Refugees in the Near East – Lord Judd Oral questions
  • Laser Misuse (Vehicles) Bill [HL] - Committee stage – Baroness Sugg Legislation
  • Problems faced by museums and galleries in England – Lord Cormack Short debate
  • Report from the European Union Committee 'Brexit: the Crown Dependencies' – Lord Boswell of Aynho Short debate

Commons: Westminster Hall

  • Skills devolution in England - on the recommendation of the Backbench Business Committee – Catherine West Westminster Hall debate; 9:30 am
  • Rail services in Bedfordshire – Gavin Shuker Westminster Hall debate; 11:00 am – 11:30 am
  • Shipbuilding strategy – Luke Pollard Westminster Hall debate; 2:30 pm – 4:00 pm
  • Reform of stamp duty – John Stevenson Westminster Hall debate; 4:00 pm – 4:30 pm
  • Democracy in Hong Kong – Fiona Bruce Westminster Hall debate; 4:30 pm – 5:30 pm

Commons: Select Committees

Scottish Affairs: Digital connectivity in Scotland 9:45 am; Room 8, Palace of Westminster
Witnesses: Andrew Ferguson, Editor in Chief and Software Developer, Think Broadband Brendan Gill, CEO, Open Signal Pete Moorey, Director of Advocacy and Public Affairs, Which? Professor Rahim Tafazolli, Director of Institute for Communication Systems and 5GIC at University of Surrey Professor Will Stewart, Optoelectonics Research Centre, University of Southampton and Chair of the IET’s Communications Policy Panel Ewan Sutherland, Independent Telecommunications Policy Analyst Dr Lorna Philip, Senior Lecturer, Geography and Environment and Deputy Head of School of Geosciences, University of Aberdeen Professor Sarah Skerratt, Professor of Rural Society and Policy, FRSA and Director, Rural Policy Centre, Scotland’s Rural College Dr Gary Bosworth, Head of the Rural Research Group and Deputy Head of the School of Geography, University of Lincoln
Education: Accountability hearings 10:00 am; Room 6, Palace of Westminster
Witnesses: Richard Atkins CBE, FE Commissioner, Department for Education Rt Hon Alan Milburn, former Chair, Social Mobility Commission Rt Hon Baroness Shephard, former Deputy Chair, Social Mobility Commission David Johnston OBE, former Commissioner, Social Mobility Commission
International Development: DFID's work on Bangladesh, Burma and the Rohingya crisis 10:00 am; The Wilson Room, Portcullis House
Witnesses: Dr Joe Devine, Head of Department Social and Policy Sciences, University of Bath Meenakshi Ganguly, South Asia Director, Human Rights Watch Dr Ipshita Basu, University of Westminster Asif Saleh, Senior Director, Strategy, Communication and Empowerment, BRAC Farah Kabir, Country Director of ActionAid Bangladesh
Treasury: Work of the Payment Systems Regulator 10:00 am; The Thatcher Room, Portcullis House
Witnesses: Hannah Nixon, Managing Director, Payment Systems Regulator John Griffith-Jones, Chairman, Payment Systems Regulator
Environmental Audit: Green Finance 10:15 am; Room 5, Palace of Westminster
Witnesses: Lord Teverson, Trustee, The Green Purposes Company Dr Peter Young, Trustee, The Green Purposes Company Edward Northam, Head of the Green Investment Group
Public Administration and Constitutional Affairs: Devolution and Exiting the EU 10:30 am; The Grimond Room, Portcullis House
Witnesses: Professor James Mitchell, Professor of Public Policy at the Academy of Government, Edinburgh University Professor Richard Wyn Jones, Director of Wales Governance Centre, Cardiff University Professor Gordon Anthony, Professor in Law at the Senator George J Mitchell Institute for Global Peace, Security and Justice
Digital, Culture, Media and Sport: Fake news 10:30 am; Room 15, Palace of Westminster
Witnesses: Professor Vian Bakir, Bangor University Professor Stephan Lewandowsky, University of Bristol Dr Caroline Tagg, the Open University Matt Breen, Commercial Director, Media Chain (part of the Social Chain Group) Adam Hildreth, Chief Executive, Crisp Dr. Charles Kriel, Corsham Institute
Science and Technology: Algorithms in decision-making 11:00 am; Room 21, Palace of Westminster
Witnesses: Elizabeth Denham, Information Commissioner Margot James MP, Minister for Digital and Creative Industries, Department for Digital,Culture, Media and Sport Oliver Buckley, Deputy Director, Digital Charter and Data Ethics, Department for Digital, Culture, Media and Sport Bilal Toure, Data Protection Policy, Department for Digital, Culture, Media and Sport
Defence: North Korea 11:30 am; Room 18, Palace of Westminster
Witnesses: Rt Hon Earl Howe, Minister of State for Defence Rt Hon Mark Field MP, Minister of State for Asia and the Pacific, Foreign and Commonwealth Office Kate White, Director of Asia Pacific, Foreign & Commonwealth Office
Backbench Business: Proposals for backbench debates 2:30 pm; Room 15, Palace of Westminster
Witnesses: Members of Parliament
Home Affairs: Home Office delivery of Brexit: policing and security cooperation 2:30 pm; The Grimond Room, Portcullis House
Witnesses: Rt Hon Nick Hurd MP, Minister of State for Policing and Fire Service, Home Office Shona Riach, Europe Director, Home Office
Health: Brexit: the regulation of medicines, medical devices and substances of human origin 2:30 pm; The Wilson Room, Portcullis House
Witnesses: Rt Hon Jeremy Hunt, Secretary of State for Health and Social Care Lord O'Shaughnessy, Parliamentary Under Secretary of State at the Department of Health and Social Care Dr Ian Hudson, Chief Executive, Medicines and Healthcare products Regulatory Agency

Lords: Select Committees

Science and Technology Committee (Lords): Life Sciences and the Industrial Strategy 10:00 am; Room 4A, Palace of Westminster
Witnesses: (at 10:10 AM) The Rt Hon. the Lord Henley, Parliamentary Under-Secretary of State, Department for Business, Energy and Industrial Strategy The Lord O'Shaughnessy, Parliamentary Under-Secretary of State, Department of Health
Communications Committee: Private Meeting 3:15 pm; Room 2, Palace of Westminster
European Union Committee: Brexit: UK-Irish relations follow-up 3:30 pm; Room 3, Palace of Westminster
Witnesses: (at 4:05 PM) Rt Hon Karen Bradley MP, Secretary of State for Northern Ireland, Northern Ireland Office Mr Robin Walker MP, Parliamentary Under Secretary of State, Department for Exiting the European Union
Economic Affairs Committee: The economics of higher, further and technical education 3:30 pm; Room 1, Palace of Westminster
Witnesses: (at 3:35 PM) Mr Giles Derrington, Head of Policy for Exiting the European Union, techUK Mr Russ Shaw, Founder, Tech London Advocates Mr Matthew Houlihan, Director, Government and Corporate Affairs, Cisco UK and Ireland (at 4:35 PM) Mr Seamus Nevin, Head of Policy Research, Institute of Directors Ms Anna Purchas, Head of People, KPMG