Previous business
Wednesday, 17 January 2018

Commons: Main Chamber   See this day →

  • International Development - including Topical Questions Oral questions; 11:30 am
  • Prime Minister's Question Time 12:00 pm
  • Private Landlords (Registration) – Phil Wilson Ten Minute Rule Motion
  • European Union (Withdrawal) Bill - remaining stages (Day 2) Legislation
  • British investors in Paradise Golf Resort, Morocco – Tom Brake Adjournment debate

Lords: Main Chamber   See this day →

  • Warning from the US Federal Aviation Administration that British aviation manufacturers may have to pay the US to export their products after Brexit – Lord Chidgey Oral questions; 3:00 pm
  • Providing support for migrants and refugees in hotspots in the Greek islands over the winter – Baroness Massey of Darwen Oral questions
  • Trade talks from April 2019 with countries having existing trade agreements registered with the EU – Lord Dykes Oral questions
  • British citizens and the European Travel Information and Authorisation System for travel to the EU – Baroness Ludford Oral questions
  • To ask the Government what steps they are taking to stem the flow of nurses leaving the NHS? – Lord Hunt of Kings Heath Private Notice Question
  • Data Protection Bill [HL] - Third reading – Lord Ashton of Hyde Legislation
  • Sanctions and Anti-Money Laundering Bill [HL] - Report stage (day 2) – Lord Ahmad of Wimbledon Legislation
  • Estimated rising time; 9:00 pm

Commons: Westminster Hall   See this day →

  • County lines exploitation in London – Joan Ryan Westminster Hall debate; 9:30 am – 11:00 am
  • Ethics and artificial intelligence – Jo Swinson Westminster Hall debate; 11:00 am – 11:30 am
  • Blood cancer care in the NHS – Henry Smith Westminster Hall debate; 2:30 pm – 4:00 pm
  • Vagrancy and homelessness in Cleethorpes – Martin Vickers Westminster Hall debate; 4:00 pm – 4:30 pm
  • Drug consumption rooms – Ronnie Cowan Westminster Hall debate; 4:30 pm – 5:30 pm

Commons: General Committees

  • Public Bill Committee: Parental Bereavement (Leave and Pay) Bill 2:00 pm; Room 12, Palace of Westminster

Commons: Select Committees

Exiting the European Union: The progress of the UK’s negotiations on EU withdrawal 9:15 am; The Boothroyd Room, Portcullis House
Witnesses: Christophe Bondy, Public International Lawyer at Cooley (UK) LLP and former senior counsel to Canada on the CETA negotiations Dr Lorand Bartels, University of Cambridge and Senior Counsel, Linklaters William Swords, President, UK-Canada Chamber of Commerce
Work and Pensions: Universal Credit rollout 9:30 am; Room 6, Palace of Westminster
Witnesses: Sally Beadle, Children's entertainer Richard Betton, self-employed farmer Luke Johnstone, founder, Pack’d Andrew Kozman, Founder, Mercury Digital Andy Chamberlain, Deputy Director of Policy and External Affairs, IPSE Andrew Clark, Director of Policy, National Farmers Union Mark Hooper, Founder and Policy Lead, indycube Lindsay Owen, Deputy Director of Policy and Evaluation, The Prince’s Trust
Scottish Affairs: RBS branch closures 9:30 am; Room 8, Palace of Westminster
Witnesses: Emma Cooper, Chief Executive Scottish Rural Action Charandeep Singh, Head of External Relations, Scottish Chambers of Commerce Lyn Turner, Regional Officer, Unite Martin Kearsley, Banking Director, Post Office Tom Moran, Network Development Director, Post Office Jane Howard, Managing Director, Personal Banking, RBS Les Matheson, Chief Executive, Personal & Business Banking, RBS
Environment, Food and Rural Affairs: Draft Animal Welfare (Sentencing and Recognition of Sentience) Bill 2017 9:30 am; The Grimond Room, Portcullis House
Witnesses: Mike Radford, Reader in Law, University of Aberdeen Sir Stephen Laws KCB, QC, former First Parliamentary Counsel Penny Hawkins, Head of Research Animals, RSPCA Science Group Paula Boyden, Veterinary Director, Dog's Trust Michael Webb, Head of Policy and Public Affairs, Battersea Dogs and Cats Home
Business, Energy and Industrial Strategy: Pre-legislative scrutiny of the draft domestic gas and electricity (tariff cap) bill 10:00 am; The Thatcher Room, Portcullis House
Witnesses: Claire Perry MP, Minister for Energy and Clean Growth, Department for Business, Energy and Industrial Strategy Dan Monzani, Director of Energy, Networks and Markets, Department for Business, Energy and Industrial Strategy
International Trade: UK-US trade relations 10:00 am; The Wilson Room, Portcullis House
Witnesses: Dr Peter Holmes, UK Trade Policy Observatory, University of Sussex Julian Jessop, Chief Economist, Institute of Economic Affairs Warwick Lightfoot, Director of Economics and Social Policy, Policy Exchange Ian Cranshaw, Chemical Industries Association Howard Chase, Dow Chemical Company Saoirse Fitzpatrick, StopAIDS
Women and Equalities: Work of the Equality and Human Rights Commission 10:00 am; Room 15, Palace of Westminster
Witnesses: Rebecca Hilsenrath, Chief Executive, Equality and Human Rights Commission Sir Brendan Barber, Chair, Acas Alex Hayes, Managing Director Emplyoment Support Services, Equality Advisory and Support Service
Women and Equalities: Race Disparity Audit 10:30 am; Room 15, Palace of Westminster
Witnesses: Sunder Katwala, Director, British Future Nicola Braganza, Barrister David Green, Director, Civitas Sado Jirde, Director, Black South West Network
Public Accounts: Government contracts with Community Rehabilitation Companies 2:30 pm; The Boothroyd Room, Portcullis House
Witnesses: Richard Heaton, Permanent Secretary, Ministry of Justice Michael Spurr, Chief Executive, HM Prison and Probation Service
Human Rights: Freedom of Speech in Universities 3:15 pm; Other
Witnesses: Amatey Doku, Vice President, National Union of Students Wes Streeting MP Professor Alison Scott-Baumann, SOAS University of London Professor Jonathan Rosenhead, Emeritus Professor of Operational Research, London School of Economics and Political Science Professor Steven Greer, Professor of Human Rights, University of Bristol The Baroness Deech DBE

Lords: Select Committees

EU Financial Affairs Sub-Committee: Private Meeting 10:00 am; Room 4, Palace of Westminster
Constitution Committee: Private Meeting 10:15 am; Room 1, Palace of Westminster
EU Home Affairs Sub-Committee: Private Meeting 10:30 am; Room 3, Palace of Westminster
International Relations Committee: Private Meeting 10:30 am; Room 4A, Palace of Westminster
Delegated Powers and Regulatory Reform Committee: Private Meeting 10:30 am; Room 2A, Palace of Westminster
Citizenship and Civic Engagement Committee: Private Meeting 10:30 am; Room 3A, Palace of Westminster