Local Government Finance
Communities and Local Government

Photo of Keith Simpson

Keith Simpson (Shadow Minister, Foreign Affairs; Mid Norfolk, Conservative)

To ask the Secretary of State for Communities and Local Government which local authorities had their accounts qualified in (a) 2005-06 and (b) 2006-07.

Photo of John Healey

John Healey (Minister of State, Department for Communities and Local Government; Wentworth, Labour)

This is an operational matter for the Audit Commission and the Chief Executive was asked to write to the hon. Member. The Chief Executive subsequently replied to him on 28 June and I have placed a copy of the letter in the Library of the House.

Letter from Steve Bundred, dated 28 June 2007:

Your parliamentary question on which local authorities fad their accounts qualified in (a) 2005-06 and (b) 2006-07 has been passed to me for reply.

As at the date of this letter, the 2005-06 accounts of the following seven principal local authorities have been qualified:

Bedfordshire County Council

Cornwall County Council

Dacorum Borough Council

Eastbourne Borough Council

Hull City Council

New Forest District Council

Norwich City Council

Because of the statutory timetable for the preparation and audit of the 2006-07 accounts, audit work is still in progress and we do not currently have any information on qualifications.

A copy of this letter will be placed in the House of Commons Library.


No annotations

Sign in or join to post a public annotation.