Photo of Andrew Rosindell

Andrew Rosindell (Vice-Chairman (Campaigning), Conservative Party; Romford, Conservative)

To ask the Secretary of State for Transport if he will list airlines which have been banned from travelling inside UK airspace.

Photo of Karen Buck

Karen Buck (Parliamentary Under-Secretary, Department for Transport; Regent's Park and Kensington North, Labour)

Any airline from outside the EU, Iceland, Norway or Switzerland which wishes to pick up or put down passengers or cargo in the UK requires a permit from the Secretary of State for Transport.

Currently the Secretary of State is refusing or wouldrefuse to issue permits to aircraft operated by the airlines listed below because of evidence that they are not receiving adequate regulatory oversight from their national aviation authorities:

any airline from Equatorial Guinea

any airline from Liberia

any airline from Tajikistan

any airline from Sierra Leone

any airline from Democratic Republic of the Congo

Air Mauritanie (Mauritania)

any airline from Swaziland.

In addition, the Secretary of State has suspended the permit of Phuket Airlines (Thailand) because of operational safety concerns.


No annotations

Sign in or join to post a public annotation.